Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    UPNP - Do I need it?

    This is a discussion on UPNP - Do I need it? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All, I have just joined Sky broadband and have a new Sagem router. I installed the router fine yesterday ...

    1. #1
      Bibby45's Avatar
      Bibby45 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worplesdon
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UPNP - Do I need it?

      Hi All,

      I have just joined Sky broadband and have a new Sagem router. I installed the router fine yesterday via a LAN cable but could not connect wirelessly using a USB Netgear WG111 wireless adapter dongle until I tuned off UPNP thanks to the info from this forum!

      But now I have a whole list of questions: -
      • What does UPNP do?
      • I want to connect up to 3 computers and a Wii wirelessly will not having UPNP enabled cause problems? I thought I needed UPNP for the Wii.
      • If I update the driver for the adapter will that allow UPNP?
      • Would a new wireless card or adapter help?
      • Also my connection speed varies from 11Mbps to 48Mbps. My old Netgear router was always connected at 54Mbps from the same location. Is this just a weaker signal from the Sagem box?

      Thanks for any replies!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UPNP - Do I need it?

      UPNP should not cause anything to be unable to connect. You must have changed something else as all upnp router problems have been fixed.

      Try changing the routers channel.

      UPNP is used for automatically forwarding ports, and so is usefull when playing games, and using p2p apps.

    4. #3
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: UPNP - Do I need it?

      if you use Windows XP you can if correctly configured display your exact internet speed in a little blue screen icon next to your connection icon But you have to have Upnp Enabled it does not work in vista. but in XP it is an extremely useful peice of kit it means you do not need to log into you routers homepage to check your isp connection speed. i used this application a hell of a lot with xp and i miss it in vista if anybody can create a program to do this i would be greatfull. regards paul

    5. #4
      Bibby45's Avatar
      Bibby45 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worplesdon
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UPNP - Do I need it?

      Thanks for the advice. I ended up changing to channel 9 and it worked fine. I don't need to do anything to UPNP and speed is stable at 54Mbps. Although I don't know why it did not work in Auto - surely this should select the best channel.

      Oh well - best to check the most simple things first!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION