Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Connected, but can't get online

    This is a discussion on Connected, but can't get online within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, I'd be very grateful if anyone could help with my problem. I've had sky wireless for about 3 months ...

    1. #1
      Codenamehardhat's Avatar
      Codenamehardhat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connected, but can't get online

      Hello,
      I'd be very grateful if anyone could help with my problem.
      I've had sky wireless for about 3 months now, and it works fine for about a month then (and this has happened 3 times now) my laptop will connect to the router, no problem, but the browser won't connect to any web pages. My Xbox 360 doesn't get that far - it says that it cannot connect to DNS.
      I've tried turning off the firewall (zonealarm), emptying temp internet files, the phone/router splitter, open DNS etc etc and none of this works.
      The @ light on the router isn't on, though it does occasionally flash orange, and the other day I had some crackling/squeaking on the line, but that seems to have gone now.
      Anyone got any ideas how to fix this?

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      first questions: -

      how are you setup?
      are you running off an extention or through your master socket?
      how many sockets do you have in total? are they all filtered if in use?

      there's a lot of things that coud be wrong but first thing is getting the @ light back on cause without that there is no internet access...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Codenamehardhat's Avatar
      Codenamehardhat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      I guess the strange thing is that it all worked fine for a month (@ light on, no problems) then, after using the net on Sunday afternoon, it wouldn't work on Sunday evening.

      We have four sockets in our house, but the only thing running of any of the peripheral sockets is the Sky TV box. On the main socket we have the phone and router, and that's it. When the BT engineer came to connect the three peripheral sockets (it's a new house), he said there would be some interference as they're wired next to the electricity cables, however I don't know what this means - my technical knowledge is fairly limited.
      Sky tested the connection (send a beeping signal down the phone while I was on the line) and they said it was OK.
      We did have the router plugged into the same peripheral socket as the Sky TV box but it was temperamental, so I switched it to the master socket.

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      Remove the faceplate off your master socket, plug your router into the test socket that is underneath it.
      If your router connects then the fault is with your extension sockets or something that's plugged into them.
      If not then a call to CS is required.

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help


    6. #5
      Codenamehardhat's Avatar
      Codenamehardhat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      Thanks penrhyn.
      Where is the test socket please? - I took off the faceplate and couldn't find it.
      Will it be on all the sockets or just the master socket?

      Thanks again.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      if you have an NTE5 master socket, it'll be behind the bottom half of the socket. do any of the socket have a horizontal split running across them? See last link in my sig for a picture of the socket in question...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Codenamehardhat's Avatar
      Codenamehardhat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      Thanks IAmNotTheEnemy,
      The one I took apart last night didn't look like that, so I'll have a look tonight and see what I can sort out. It may be that I've mistaken the master socket, which is a bit of a schoolboy error if that's true!!

    9. #8
      Codenamehardhat's Avatar
      Codenamehardhat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      Thanks everyone for your help with this. It seems that the problem was the fact that I had my Sky TV box plugged straight into one of the sockets, without a filter/splitter.
      Not sure why this would cause the problem, but it's certainly been solved now.

      Thanks again everyone.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connected, but can't get online

      its cause your TV box uses the same low frequencies as normal phone calls, and a filter seperates those from the high frequencies that BB uses...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION