Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    New Router, Now No Wireless.

    This is a discussion on New Router, Now No Wireless. within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I use an Azureware USB dongle for Wireless, model no. AW-NU221. It's worked fine and dandy before today but upon ...

    1. #1
      proxi's Avatar
      proxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router, Now No Wireless.

      I use an Azureware USB dongle for Wireless, model no. AW-NU221.

      It's worked fine and dandy before today but upon receiving my shiny new black Netgear kit I cannot for the life of me get it to connect to the wireless network. I've tried deleting all settings then starting over, reinstalling the Azureware dongle, going through as many router settings via the browser as I can. After four hours of pulling my hair out I called Sky as a last resort knowing they'd give limited support for a third-party adapter. "Buy a Sky one, they said".

      Anyone have a clue? And can anyone confirm this adapter doesn't work with the newer router? The chap at Sky said "umm, nah I wouldn't have thought so.".

      I've already tried switching off uPnP by the way, I do not have a flash drive for use and have entered my WEP key generated from router settings into the Available Networks area when clicking on Sky, and to no avail, I just get no connection, no green lights in the icon on the system tray, and nothing seems to want to try to connect by itself each time I've rebooted (over 25 times so far, router & laptop).

      Thanks in advance. I'm not very technically blessed so any help would be appreciated in a Teaching Five Years Old style.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      I note your Azureware dongle offers 3 versions of WiFi 802.11 n/g/b. Are you sure your not trying to connect with the 802.11n version? I believe the Sky router you have is 802.11b/g.

      The router should have connected straight from the box. I'd reset the Router to it's factory state then make sure the USB dongle is set to 802.11g and try again.

    4. #3
      proxi's Avatar
      proxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      Ah, I've just spotted mine is actually 802.11n now. Does that mean I'm shagged with this adapter then? Cheers in advance.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      in a word, yes
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      You may be able to force the dongle into 802.11g mode. Worth a look! Otherwise you concisely described your status!

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      ^ didn't think of that - d'oh!!

      most adapters (unless its says its only n) should be compatible with all standards...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      proxi's Avatar
      proxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      You may be able to force the dongle into 802.11g mode. Worth a look! Otherwise you concisely described your status!
      Force it? Could I request how please. If it means there's a clear switch you can flick in the settings somewhere then surely it must not be changeable, I've looked at more settings today than an IT engineer probably does in a week.

      Thanks again!

    9. #8
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New Router, Now No Wireless.

      You will have to navigate to the Properties of your dongle (depends upon which OS and what software you are using). I can then select 802.11b or 802.11g or 802.11b/g - the last one will auto switch depending upon WiFi reception strength.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION