Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

    This is a discussion on My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!" within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I eventually found a weak signal & got connection. A happy lad I switched off & went to watch football. ...

    1. #1
      mlfarnworth's Avatar
      mlfarnworth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

      I eventually found a weak signal & got connection. A happy lad I switched off & went to watch football.

      On returning I could view my own network but it said my key was incorrect (it was correct - uppercase, input her slowly!)...the PC is 5m max (that's metres not miles) away in the room nxt door from the v2 router! My device manager shows the adaptor is fine. And I use Vista.

      Don't tell me I have to carry my pc back into that room, Ethernet her up and change channels or other settings!
      Last edited by mlfarnworth; 09-04-08 at 01:57 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

      I'd start by changing the WiFi channel. Depending upon the current setting try 1,6 or 10.

      Also make sure your Router isn't next to another WiFi source - for example a cordless digital DECT phone.

    4. #3
      mlfarnworth's Avatar
      mlfarnworth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

      So if SKY send me a card saying use Channel 11 - that doesn't necessarily mean it's the best for me and my situation?

      K I'll give it a go...

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

      The channel on the card just states what channel was set at the factory, try altering the channel, you may need to try a couple of times to hit one that will work well for you.

    6. #5
      mlfarnworth's Avatar
      mlfarnworth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

      In the end I changed the security to WEP and it enabled wireless. Not sure why but my PC wouldn't accept the pre-set security levels from the router :/

    7. #6
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My network found - "sorry sunshine you ain't connecting wirelessly to me!"

      are you sure the aerial is connected properly on the wireless card / router (if either has one)? this could cause the problem. try reconnecting them

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION