Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

    This is a discussion on 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; so ..do i have to connect laptop to ethernet cable ..and then set up ssid & network key on laptop..so ...

    1. #11
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      so ..do i have to connect laptop to ethernet cable ..and then set up ssid & network key on laptop..so as to be able to connect wirelessly...is that what you are saying ?..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      The only reason you may need to use ethernet to setup the router would be if your PC wireless adaptor doesn't like WPA. Normally you would just plug the router in, let it lock and settle, fire up the PC, windows will find a new wireless network (your sky router) and then you connect to it, at this point you will be asked for a network key and you type in the key on the card (all capital letters, no numbers).

    4. #13
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      as quoted before.."(all capital letters, no numbers)." thats where i think i was going wrong....was not sure if the key was all numbers or letters or both and not sure about caps...thanks..i will give that a go now...cheers

    5. #14
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      You can either use the settings as supplied by sky on the card and the router bottom or configure your own from the desktop. This assumes your laptop is able to use WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access), if it is an older model it may be only able to use the ealier and less secure WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) and so you will have to change the router to match it. You could of course turn wireless security off completely and it would then work as before. (This may be worth trying whilst you are testing but I would strongly advise that you get at least WEP security set up.)

    6. #15
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      success !!!! thanks guys...i am now using my laptop wirelessly...it was all to do with the network key...using all caps & letters...i am now set up...once again ..BIG THANK YOU !!!!!!!!

    7. #16
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      Cool, well done, saves a phone calls lol

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      isnt it obvious it's all letters? is to me...

      still, glad its sorted...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      hi, nope not obvious it is all letters as i had 00...now did i type letters or numbers ?

    10. #19
      JIMV's Avatar
      JIMV is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      hI i am trying to connect a new pc with a usb adaptor to my sky netgear router ssid is found ex strength but it will not connect and when it trys to repair it gives message unknown reason for failing I am using vista on new pc. Have tried manual setting but no joy can any one help

    11. #20
      inside_man's Avatar
      inside_man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02890
      Broadband ISP: BT bb
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      belfast
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Acquiring Network Address' but can't connect!!

      just retype the network key in CAPS.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 25-03-08, 01:22 AM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION