Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Help please.

    This is a discussion on Help please. within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have set up my sky router etc etc the way it said, now my daughter is trying to get ...

    1. #1
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help please.

      I have set up my sky router etc etc the way it said, now my daughter is trying to get on wirelessly it is recognising the newtwork name but wont let her browse the net it says server not found.

      the signal is 5/5.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      Try connecting with an open network i.e without any encryption and see if your able to connect.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      Razor's Avatar
      Razor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01380
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Help please.

      I am having excatly the same problems and have tried everything, please let me know how you get on.

    5. #4
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      Try connecting with an open network i.e without any encryption and see if your able to connect.
      how do i do that then?

    6. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      Go into the wireless setting of the router and make sure the encryption option is off.

      i.e
      Wireless Settings
      Security Options
      Disabled

      You will see other options that secure your wireless connection but for the time being turn it off and connect with an open network.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #6
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      done that, but still nothing, thanks for yer help btw

    8. #7
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      Are you actually connecting to the router, i.e. do you have an icon in the system tray which shows your wireless connection speed.
      P.S. don't forget to turn your wireless security back on.

    9. #8
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      yep defo the laptop is picking the connect up now but cant access the net.

    10. #9
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      Can you open a command window and run "ipconfig /all" and paste the output here (you may have to copy it to floppy/usb stick in order to get it to your PC). Or just tell us what the ip and default gateway are.

    11. #10
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please.

      im not sure how vista works on the lapotop i run xp on pc, how do i do a command prompt on the vista laptop

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION