Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    please help!!!!!

    This is a discussion on please help!!!!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there I have two computers- one laptop and one main computer. The sky router(Ethernet wire)is connected to the main ...

    1. #1
      newbydavid's Avatar
      newbydavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      please help!!!!!

      Hi there

      I have two computers- one laptop and one main computer.

      The sky router(Ethernet wire)is connected to the main computer, but I'm trying to connect my wireless laptop.

      Every time i switch the main computer off, the port number (1) on the sky router switches of.
      This has never happened before. I used to just switch the router on (port number 1 will switch on) then connect with my laptop.

      So now for me to use my laptop I have to switch the main computer on for the port number (1) to come on

      Can someone help me please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      Port 1 should not be on when you are using wireless anyway, only when you are using a computer attached to port 1

      If you turn your computer off then there will be no activity light on port 1.

      There is no connection between port 1 2 3 or 4 and the wireless signal.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    4. #3
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      118
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by newbydavid View Post
      Hi there

      I have two computers- one laptop and one main computer.

      The sky router(Ethernet wire)is connected to the main computer, but I'm trying to connect my wireless laptop.

      Every time i switch the main computer off, the port number (1) on the sky router switches of.
      This has never happened before. I used to just switch the router on (port number 1 will switch on) then connect with my laptop.

      So now for me to use my laptop I have to switch the main computer on for the port number (1) to come on

      Can someone help me please?
      The fact that the light is on or off on port number 1 should have no bearing on your wireless connection.
      Have you checked that the wireless AP is enabled on the router?

      Edit, thinking about it, it sounds like you have enabled internet connection sharing through your desktop instead of setting it up as a direct connection.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      As the others have said there shouldnt be any relationship between the ethernet ports and wireless. Its strange that port 1 goes off when you turn off the main computer. Port 1 light should stay on when there is a connection to it whether the pc is off or on. It should flash to show activity ie when browsing etc. Could it be a problem with your network card drivers ? Also there is no need to turn the router off it is designed to be left on and as your on the connect package turning it off could cause problems as the equipment at the exchange will think it has a problem and reduce its sync speed.


    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      Port 1 light should stay on when there is a connection to it whether the pc is off or on.
      This is not always the case. Some stay on some don't. Some boards keep the connection alive some don't. I think it depends on whether the board is set to 'Wake on LAN' or not.

      It is difficult to see how the OP can only connect when the main PC is on, ICS would explain this if the PC had a wireless adapter, but he has not mentioned this.

      I think starting from scratch and following the Wireless Tutorial may be the best bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      ^^ Sorry, didnt realise that, was just recounting what my own router does ie light on all the time, thought it was the same with all.


    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      ^^^^
      Not to worry, I have just tried setting one of my PCs to Wake on Lan and it still turns the light out. It has a plug in card so maybe it is only boards with a built in adapter that leave the light on with WoL? I will try on one of these later.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      yeah - mines a built in adapter as was my last so maybe thats it


     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION