Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Wireless woes

    This is a discussion on Wireless woes within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, first post so please be gentle with me! I migrated to Sky yesterday from Newnet. We have 3 desktop ...

    1. #1
      fatmarl's Avatar
      fatmarl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless woes

      Hi, first post so please be gentle with me!

      I migrated to Sky yesterday from Newnet. We have 3 desktop PCs at home, all sharing the same internet connection. Mine is connected to the Netgear DG934 router via an ethernet cable so no problems there. The other two are (were) connected each using a BT Voyager 1055 USB adapter. When I went live yesterday, I opened the Voyager utility on the two other PCs, located my SSID for the router and entered the network key. The utility for the adapters is showing good signal strength but will not connect to the internet (see screen dump on this link).

      http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/c...tmarl/1055.jpg

      On each PC, there is also a picture of a small computer in the system tray. When I hover the mouse over it, it says "acquiring network address". I am not very technically minded. I have searched this (and other) forums but I just seem to be going around in circles. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers,

      Ian.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      terrorvis's Avatar
      terrorvis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Draytek 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      West Yorks
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless woes

      Using your wired pc, log into the router http://192.168.0.1 using the user: admin and password: sky

      Try changing the wireless channel, or setting it to auto. I had this problem when I first got the sky router out of the box. It could be interferance on that particular wireless channel.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Wireless woes

      Are the USB adaptors trying to use WEP? If so they won't connect to the router unless you log in to it and turn the WPA encryption down to WEP and then create a new key for it. Failing that tell Windows to control the wireless adaptors instead of the Voyager software and try entering the key again, make sure that if the letters are on the card that you are typing caps into the network key box.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless woes

      From your photo it does look like security is your problem. Go into the router wireless settings and turn off the security. If you can connect, check that the key is properly entered in the adapter, then re-enable the security. Again from your photo, it looks like it may be set for WEP instead of WPA. The 1055 does support WPA, I know as I have one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      fatmarl's Avatar
      fatmarl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless woes

      Thanks for the replies. I'm on nights at the moment so I won't be able to have a dabble until tomorrow. I'll let you now how I get on.

      Ian.

    7. #6
      fatmarl's Avatar
      fatmarl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless woes

      Sorted it, it was a security issue. I logged in to the router and turned all security off - both other PCs connected. After a bit of a fiddle I managed to enable WEP, I will have a go enabling WPA when I've got a bit more time. Thanks for the replies.

      Ian.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Wireless woes

      Moved to correct forum

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION