Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

    This is a discussion on Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Router stats and TCPOptimizer have no relevance to your problem. As I said before, don't use the wireless access (MAC ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

      Router stats and TCPOptimizer have no relevance to your problem.

      As I said before, don't use the wireless access (MAC address feature) when trying to set up wirelessly. You don't need it and it can cause problems.

      Going back to basics, you clearly have a wireless signal as you say it is reported by Windows. Could it simply be that the signal is such low strength/quality that the connection won't hold? How far apart are the router and PC?

      Can I suggest the following:
      • get the router and PC as close together as possible.
      • uninstall the PC card (drivers) and reinstall
      • set your PC to obtain an IP address automatically
      • reset the router by pressing in the reset button on the back for 10 seconds
      • log into the router and turn off wireless encryption
      • reboot the router and the PC
      • try and connect wirelessly


      If you still can't connect then all I can think of is that you have a hardware fault.
      Last edited by Saturday; 06-10-07 at 11:11 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by london_red View Post
      No firewall, but what is the windows effort??? And where can i find it.
      In XP Control pannel and then click Security Centre!

    4. #13
      london_red's Avatar
      london_red is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

      Hi everyone. You have been a great help. Finally got some wireless after ages of trying. I updated everything that possibly could be updated on my computer. I then phoned sky and told them i wouldnt stop calling until the problem was sorted. They tried a few things and told me it wasnt a mistake their end it was at my end. I told them everything on the computer was as it should be. Randomly this morning it started working.

      BUT the problem i have now is that i have really poor connection. My router is only in the room next to mine but the connection is really bad. And its a bit hit and miss. A lot of pages wont display one second and then are fine the next.It turns itself off and cuts out but still says it connected (wired and wireless). I saw a thread about poor connection so i will have a quick read of that i have changed the channel but no luck as of yet. If anyone can give me any things to try and to get a better connection it would be handy. I have tried channel changing, moving the router higher and making sure its not near anything that could interfere.

      Just one problem after another with me.

      Thanks Again

      P.S. When you have the internet connected does your gateway stay connected or does it disappear sometimes because mine always disappears after a while.

    5. #14
      london_red's Avatar
      london_red is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

      Also i just did a speed test and i got

      509kbps download
      412kbps upload

      How slow is that???????????? (Also just used the TCP Optimizer as well)

    6. #15
      gav2701's Avatar
      gav2701 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01259
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

      I am having the same problem but I can connect with one laptop running XP Pro but I can't with a new laptop running Vista Home. I don't know a lot about Vista but I have tried turning off firewall etc.

      I am currently connected to my neighbours unsecured router (with permission) no problem.

    7. #16
      london_red's Avatar
      london_red is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection or lack of it to be precise!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by gav2701 View Post
      I am having the same problem but I can connect with one laptop running XP Pro but I can't with a new laptop running Vista Home. I don't know a lot about Vista but I have tried turning off firewall etc.

      I am currently connected to my neighbours unsecured router (with permission) no problem.
      Wireless help required windows Vista


      You can have a look at this thread see if there is anything to help here. There are a few ideas and things to try on the three pages. Let me know how you get on.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION