Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Could someone please help me

    This is a discussion on Could someone please help me within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My computer knowledge you could fit on a postage stamp but here goes. I have for my sins signed up ...

    1. #1
      Stephanie's Avatar
      Stephanie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Could someone please help me

      My computer knowledge you could fit on a postage stamp but here goes. I have for my sins signed up for base broadband I have received my wireless router. Firstly I haven't got a ethernet plug(yellow lead) in the back of my lap top so my neighbour said I needed to buy a network card that is compatable with Windows ME I have that now. But when I try and run the Sky disc to show me how to work it all I cannot get passed the first page the ok lets get started page. Why is that?

      A the moment I have got the yellow lead trailing accross the lounge with the dogs falling over it every 5 minutes, how do I go wireless. You guys are very clever there must be someone who can help me please

      S x x


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Could someone please help me

      Hi

      Do you know if the Network card for the laptop has been installed?

      As long as it has, the router should plug into it with the yellow cable, and the phone line lead into a filter into your phone socket.

      As for the disc, you should not really need to install it unless you want McAfee installing.

      If all of the above is true, clicking on Internet Explorer should get you on the internet.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Could someone please help me





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Stephanie's Avatar
      Stephanie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could someone please help me

      Thanks for replying so quickly. I just plugged the network card in, so how will I know if it has installed. Can I look somewhere to see if it has.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Could someone please help me

      Is it a wireless Network Card or one with a hole in to accept the yellow cable?

      I cannot remember Millenium, but I would assume if you right click on my computer and then left click on properties, you should see device manager or similar.

      Down that list, there should be Network something.

      If you look in there it should have a name of a network card, or down the whole list, there maybe a yellow exclamation mark. If it is a yellow exclamation mark, it means the drivers are not installed. iirc you need to click on that and tell it to install drivers from the disc that come with the card. You may need to browse to the disc for it to find it.

      I am sorry I really cannot remember how ME works. Maybe someone else can guide you if what I told you does not work.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Stephanie's Avatar
      Stephanie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could someone please help me

      Thanks Im going to try that tonight. It is a network card with the hole for the lead to plg into, coz I'm tight and wont fork out 59.99 for a wireless card just yet.

    8. #7
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could someone please help me

      59.99 is extortionate!

      Dynamode WLGI300B Wireless PCMCIA Network Adapter 54mbps 802.11g - Ebuyer

      Assuming you are looking for a PCMIA card (one that fits the hole in ur laptop)

    9. #8
      kj23's Avatar
      kj23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could someone please help me

      Quote Originally Posted by chrisypea View Post
      59.99 is extortionate!

      Dynamode WLGI300B Wireless PCMCIA Network Adapter 54mbps 802.11g - Ebuyer

      Assuming you are looking for a PCMIA card (one that fits the hole in ur laptop)
      Yeah, exactly, you can get USB ones too a lot cheaper than 60, argos have them for 20 or so as well if you want to pick one up in person.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION