Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

    This is a discussion on Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I have the standard sky router and i have just bought the WG311T pci card. Now it says the ...

    1. #1
      DayvG's Avatar
      DayvG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

      Hi

      I have the standard sky router and i have just bought the WG311T pci card. Now it says the card is a wireless G 108mbps, so why can I only connect to the router at 54mbps. I have tried changing the channel on the router from 6 to 11, tried changing the settings to g only, and auto 108mbps and still no joy. It only connects at 54mbps. Can any one enlighten me as to why this happens as the reason I bought this card was to get high transfer speeds as I wirelessly stream media to my xbox and other PC's in the house.

      Thanx in advance

      DayvG


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

      Try setting to channel 6 and auto 108 in the router settings?
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    4. #3
      Cube623's Avatar
      Cube623 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pelsall (CMPEL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Pelsall
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

      Well just to let you know that I have the same problem with my WG111T. Will not connect above 54mbps despite the router being set to Auto 108 and on channel 6. I've even put the router and adapter side by side and it still won't attempt at going over 54mbps!
      Cannot Understand Basic English 623

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

      The thread is a bit out of date but have you checked that the USB port you are using is a highspeed one? ie, USB2 and not USB1.1, many PCs have have both standards. I don't think the old standard will properly support 108 mbps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Cube623's Avatar
      Cube623 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pelsall (CMPEL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Pelsall
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The thread is a bit out of date but have you checked that the USB port you are using is a highspeed one? ie, USB2 and not USB1.1, many PCs have have both standards. I don't think the old standard will properly support 108 mbps.
      Yep I'm using a USB2 Connection. I think the original poster has a WG311T which I think is a pci card so it defenatly isn't that
      Cannot Understand Basic English 623

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear WG311T only connecting at 54mbps?!?

      ^^^^^^^^^^^^
      It was actually you I was addressing, but as you say you are using a USB2 port, it wont apply.

      Have you had a look at the Netgear Forum you may find help there as there is quite a bit on the WG111T
      Last edited by Isitme; 18-09-07 at 02:23 PM. Reason: Typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION