Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

    This is a discussion on BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've successfully set up BASE WIFI, using work laptop - a laptop with which I can access PPV WIFI very ...

    1. #1
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      I've successfully set up BASE WIFI, using work laptop - a laptop with which I can access PPV WIFI very easily without problems.

      The WIFI worked briefly but on subsequent attempts to use, with an apparently good connection etc - the laptop browser simply doesn't seem willing to use the WIFI claimed to be available and prompts me to use dial up connections etc via pop ups.

      Very frustrating.

      Any guidance, tips, I assume its just a settings issue, but I don't' appear able to overcome it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sadfish's Avatar
      Sadfish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport - LCSOU
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      Quote Originally Posted by DavidPayne View Post
      I've successfully set up BASE WIFI, using work laptop - a laptop with which I can access PPV WIFI very easily without problems.

      The WIFI worked briefly but on subsequent attempts to use, with an apparently good connection etc - the laptop browser simply doesn't seem willing to use the WIFI claimed to be available and prompts me to use dial up connections etc via pop ups.

      Very frustrating.

      Any guidance, tips, I assume its just a settings issue, but I don't' appear able to overcome it.
      Can you ping from START>RUN> type CMD and then type
      Code:
      ping www.bbc.co.uk
      in the pane that appears

      If you get results rather than a not found issue, then you browser isnt seeing the wifi and we can narrow the fix for that by you telling us which browser you are using.

      If you aer using IE then try setting the TOOLS>INTERNET OPTIONS>CONNECTIONS option to NEVER DIAL A CONNECTION.

      or remove the connections that are lisetd on that panel gto force it to use the default network connections.

      hth.
      Last edited by Sadfish; 04-09-07 at 04:02 PM.

    4. #3
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      This sounds promising, I have tried selecting NEVER DIAL to no avail, I'm using XP and er, how do I establish what browser I'm using?

      God what a NUMPTY I sound.

      I once tried clicking on the SSL 2.0, TSL etc settings whoch got it up once, if you'll pardon the expression, but since then nothing.

    5. #4
      Sadfish's Avatar
      Sadfish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport - LCSOU
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      Quote Originally Posted by DavidPayne View Post
      This sounds promising, I have tried selecting NEVER DIAL to no avail, I'm using XP and er, how do I establish what browser I'm using?

      God what a NUMPTY I sound.

      I once tried clicking on the SSL 2.0, TSL etc settings whoch got it up once, if you'll pardon the expression, but since then nothing.

      Did you try the PING? and did it get a result?

    6. #5
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      Obviously, I'm not at home using the WIFI presently, I'm at work on a network broadband.

      Willt he ping still deliver any meaningful results?

    7. #6
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      I got a strange black box with an H: prompt.

      ?

    8. #7
      Sadfish's Avatar
      Sadfish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport - LCSOU
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      Quote Originally Posted by DavidPayne View Post
      Obviously, I'm not at home using the WIFI presently, I'm at work on a network broadband.

      Willt he ping still deliver any meaningful results?
      yes a Ping with ensure your laptop is definately on the network and conversing with the internet as well.


      in the H: box type
      Code:
      ping www.bbc.co.uk
      and you should get a good result with a list of things happening, otherwise a bad response like could not resolve host or something.

      Then you know its specific to you browser and not your whole laptop.

    9. #8
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      I got lots of reply messages, packets sent and recieved etc

    10. #9
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      Tried again last night, took down the firewall in admin log on, no effect, slected never dial connection, no effect.

      I'm fed up to the back teeth.

      Anymore insight.

    11. #10
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BASE User, Good WIFI connection but browser problems

      Thanks for all your help. Sky's Gina said "plug your reciever into the main phone line".

      I said "its alive!!!"

      Had it plugged into an extension.

      Sorry. What a numpty.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION