Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

    This is a discussion on Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, Just signed up for Sky BB (Max). Currently on TalkTalk. Found this site after the sign up and ...

    1. #1
      g3az66's Avatar
      g3az66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Lee
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Stoke on Trent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

      Hi all,

      Just signed up for Sky BB (Max). Currently on TalkTalk. Found this site after the sign up and I must say I have learned so much from it. My local exchange is only 540metres away so looking forward to getting somewhere near 16mb. However, I'm currently wireless with a Linksys WAG54G. Will this work with Sky? If so what settings do I need to enter at the setup page? It seems far easier to me to use my current setup as I have 4 pc's on my network, than to go the nightmare of changing channels, SSID's and security keys. Or will I have to swap to the Sky wireless setup?
      much appreciated
      Gaz


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

      if you dont use the sky router, then you are in breach of the T&Cs that you have contractually agreed to and they can terminate your connection at anytime. They will also refuse to investigate any problmes you may have.

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

      of course an easy thing to do when you log into the sky router is to change the SSID from the default to whatever you have in your linsys (and also change the router ip address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1 as the linksys uses 1.1). That means you only have to configure 1 router and not the PCs. IE reconfig the sky router to the same IP address and SSID as the linksys.

    5. #4
      g3az66's Avatar
      g3az66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Lee
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Stoke on Trent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      of course an easy thing to do when you log into the sky router is to change the SSID from the default to whatever you have in your linsys (and also change the router ip address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1 as the linksys uses 1.1). That means you only have to configure 1 router and not the PCs. IE reconfig the sky router to the same IP address and SSID as the linksys.
      Sounds fair enough Red but had compatability issues in past with using non Linksys equipment. i.e. crap signals. Is there no way of putting Sky settings on the WAG?

      If I do have probs then its far easier to set one pc to the Sky router to have Sky assist. Or am I just being lazy?

      cheers for the reply anyways

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

      if you are happy to break the t&cs, then you just need to use mognuts util (see my sig) to extract your username and password from the sky router and then simply change th ecurrent logon and password in th linksys.

      thats all i did when i tried out my linsys wag54gs (I do still use the sky netgear as I found it better than the linksys).

    7. #6
      g3az66's Avatar
      g3az66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Lee
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Stoke on Trent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linksys WAG54G and Sky BB

      Cheers for the advice and info mate. Will report back with speeds I get and hardware used

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION