Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

    This is a discussion on Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Any one help. Have 2 laptops - A dell and a sony. Dell has stopped connecting upto wireless. Sony connects ...

    1. #1
      legoman0's Avatar
      legoman0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      Any one help.

      Have 2 laptops - A dell and a sony. Dell has stopped connecting upto wireless.

      Sony connects up fine, 100% all the time. (typical, the Mrs' computer)

      Dell had this problem previously and I had to reinstall xp, starts off intermittently, every so often when starting pc have to reboot before it gets it connection, then just gets worse - have to reboot 3 or more times before it works, now it just doesnt connect up at all.

      Things I've tried -

      Upto date drivers
      SP2 Fix
      Winsock Fix
      ipconfig flush/renew/release etc
      with and without password
      using windows to connect and using the 'dell utility'
      googled it, read loads of pages but got no actual answer
      firewall off
      peer guardian off

      dont want to reinstall XP again, obviously didnt fix the problem

      Anyone help me keep what little hair I have left?

      TIA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      sounds like an Ip conflict error. Check the network settings to see if either of the pcs is set to always take a certain ip address.

    4. #3
      legoman0's Avatar
      legoman0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      Nope, both set to obtain IP address automatically.

      thanks tho

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      Okay, what about setting them to obtain an actuall address, like 192.168.0.2 for one pc and 192.168.0.3 for the other just to make sure that they always grab a different address.

    6. #5
      legoman0's Avatar
      legoman0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      Well.... nearly!

      Seemed to connect, little computer flashing green, but when tried to go to a web page, says that Firefox cant establish a connection. (Same happened on Sony as well)

      Pahhh!

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      so both pcs are not getting a connection on the net?
      is the network icon now showing a proper connection or still limited?

    8. #7
      legoman0's Avatar
      legoman0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      When I set the IP addresses manually (192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.3) both of them show that they had connected to the SKY54*** network and the icon flashed on and off as if all was well. But when I tried to access anything, I just got the Firefox cant establish a connection to the server at ........... message.

      Changed the settings back to automatic and this one (sony) connected and worked straight away, but the dell is still aquiring network address.

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      so its defo an ip issue.

      Next step is to log into the router and go to the LAN IP setup page. What are the details in there?

    10. #9
      legoman0's Avatar
      legoman0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      LAN IP Setup


      LAN TCP/IP Setup
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      RIP Direction NONE
      RIP Version RIP-1

      Use Router as DHCP Server Ticked
      Starting IP Address 192.168.0.2
      Ending IP Address 192.168.0.245

      Mean anything?

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Arrrggghsohhh!! F*@%!!!! Limited or no connectivity!

      that looks fine. ANything in the reserverd address boxes, i guess not?

      for the pc that is stuck obtaining an address, does it work if you switch off the other pc and the try to connect this pc?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION