Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

    This is a discussion on Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; And this is with the wireless connecting at 54Mbps which far exceeds the capacity of the WAN connection, so I ...

    1. #1
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      And this is with the wireless connecting at 54Mbps which far exceeds the capacity of the WAN connection, so I cant see why this could be a bottleneck?

      Or does the fact that it connects at 54Mbps necessarily mean the wireless throughput is 54Mbps ????

      Looks like there is no bottleneck when hardwired because my ADSL is syncing at about 1800kbps, and I'm getting 1600kbps+ on this (assume there are overheads).

      BTW. I've run the TCP optimiser thing - made a small difference.

      Might try changing the wireless channel.
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      The connection speed reported by wireless adaptors is practically meaningless as it is a relative measure of signal strength not quality (i.e. noise to signal ratio).

      1600kbps download on a 1800kbps sync is good. Transmission overheads account for ~20%.

    4. #3
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      The connection speed reported by wireless adaptors is practically meaningless as it is a relative measure of signal strength not quality (i.e. noise to signal ratio).

      1600kbps download on a 1800kbps sync is good. Transmission overheads account for ~20%.
      Thats on the hard-wired link mind....

      So, you're saying that it looks like the wireless network segment is the bottleneck then ?

      Whats the best way to test wireless throughput? (i.e. easier than copying a file between two PCs and timing it !!!)
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    5. #4
      Abo's Avatar
      Abo
      Abo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      (bit of a long post this as it turns out, sorry )

      I get something like this too but my stats are for example (as reported by dslzoneuk.net, test run a couple of minutes ago with maybe 30 seconds gap between them):

      Wired: 10860kbps
      wifi: 3419kbps

      Big difference. My router seems to be set up correctly; it's WPA secured and switched to b&g mode. It's the same if I switch it to Auto 108.

      Both my laptops are affected. They report being connected at 54Mbps. If I connect them to my Virgin cable Dynamode BR-6004 W-G1 router (Virgin is still live, it gets switched off on 16th July) they will run at the same speed regardless of whether connected to the ethernet socket or wifi.

      Two suggestions I've heard are:

      1: '54 mbps is a lie that these companies selling Wi-Fi tell you. Just because
      it says 54 mbps doesn't mean the processor in the access point (AP)/router
      can actually process the throughput that fast.

      I have this issue too and it needs to be publicized more. I have a
      connection that tops out at about 20 mbps and when I am on a wired
      workstation, I get every bit of it on the Speakeasy speed test site. When I
      then try on my NetGear WG302 I get 5.5 mbps tops. It has the latest firmware
      and this happens even with the AP has no security set as a test.

      I have tried this also with a NetGear WAG102, which has the same Intel
      XScale 422 processor (boy is this hard to find info), so naturally it only
      gave me the same 5.5 mbps. So I tried 2 APs, 2 different cables, 2 different
      computers, and even 2 different switches, and nothing changed. It is all
      about the ability of the AP to actually process data, and this was more or
      less confirmed by NetGear tech support when he was describing true router
      throughput as a comparison.'

      and... 2: 'Your PC uses different setups for each interface. It sounds like the MTU
      used with the Lan interface direct to the router is OK, but the MTU for say
      a USB Wifi dongle is not. You need to try tools such as drTCP to modify the
      MTU for the USB wifi.'

      Not sure if it *is* related to point 2; as I say, my machines both work fine on the cable router. Could it really be down to what is said in point 1? Maybe the router is faulty?

      How about if I disable the wifi in the Sky Netgear router and plut one of the ethernet ports into the WAN socket on the Dynamode router and use it's wifi? Would it work? It seems mental to have two routers running like this somehow...

    6. #5
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      Changed wireless channel to 3 from 11 on Sky router. I assume 11 is the default that everyone leaves it at.

      Anyway, both laptop and desktop wireless cards picked up the change of channel and still connected automatically.

      Good news is their both giving me about 1600mbps which is the same as the wired connection, so I'm happy.

      I assume channel 11 is the default for other manufacturers as well?

      I did notice one or two other wireless networks. Is it a case that everyone leaves it on 11 and then it gets clogged up?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    7. #6
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      @Abo

      See my post below about changing the wireless channel...
      Last edited by Saturday; 13-07-07 at 11:06 PM.
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    8. #7
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      wired over wireless anyday - despite what speed it says it can do - and that's signal speed for file transfer etc

    9. #8
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      Quote Originally Posted by PeteC View Post
      wired over wireless anyday - despite what speed it says it can do - and that's signal speed for file transfer etc
      Yes. Totally agree with you.

      Its just that wireless is more wife-friendly !!!! (i.e. no LAN cables running upstairs !!!)
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    10. #9
      CompactDestruction's Avatar
      CompactDestruction is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      Check the sticky thread on wireless speeds. It really helped me.

      On Wireless On A 11500kbps Line

    11. #10
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hardwired - 1800kbps, Wireless - 700kbps ?

      Quote Originally Posted by CompactDestruction View Post
      Check the sticky thread on wireless speeds. It really helped me.
      Yep. Thanks. Looked at that.
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION