Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Trying to obtain address..

    This is a discussion on Trying to obtain address.. within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Laptop works fine but my dekstop only seems to work with a LAN cable (yes, it does have a wireless ...

    1. #1
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Trying to obtain address..

      Laptop works fine but my dekstop only seems to work with a LAN cable (yes, it does have a wireless card too!!).

      I disabled the LAN port and turn on the wireless. Set it up to connected to the wireless network which it does but then it seems stuck at trying to obtain address.

      So far, I've tried:-

      1. disabling/renabling wireless on desktop.
      2. rebooting PC
      3. restarting router.

      No joy. Any ideas?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to obtain address..

      manually give ure desktop a ip addy mate search the forum there is a topic. thats what my problem was and turn of upnp

    4. #3
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to obtain address..

      Quote Originally Posted by RickyC View Post
      manually give ure desktop a ip addy mate search the forum there is a topic. thats what my problem was and turn of upnp
      Yeh. I can do this but it SHOULD work.

      How does upnp affect it? Trust sky to go with a flakey router...
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    5. #4
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to obtain address..

      mate it is a shockin router. Just an idea about manually assigning a ip someone else may have a better idea? anyone?
      UPNP cause lots of problems, dunno if it affects this though!

    6. #5
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to obtain address..

      Quote Originally Posted by RickyC View Post
      mate it is a shockin router. Just an idea about manually assigning a ip someone else may have a better idea? anyone?
      UPNP cause lots of problems, dunno if it affects this though!
      What does upnp do anyway?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    7. #6
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to obtain address..

      it means you don't have to mnually open ports ie for torrents

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION