Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    How do I turn off the wireless?

    This is a discussion on How do I turn off the wireless? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by mossywell Version 2.0 - 15 March 2007 NOTE: This breaches the terms and conditions that you agreed ...

    1. #1
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      Quote Originally Posted by mossywell View Post
      Version 2.0 - 15 March 2007

      NOTE: This breaches the terms and conditions that you agreed to when signing up to Sky and Sky therefore have the right to kick you off their broadband service (at best)!
      Can you tell me what happens when Sky finds out that I am not using their router? I've just watched the Panorama program on Tues 22 May which was about the potential danger to children from WiFi networks in schools. As I have young children at home and don't wish to fry their brains, I would like to change to a non-WiFi router. Should I succeed in setting this up (and I'm no techie), can't Sky accept that I have a reasonable excuse not to use their router? Heck, can I get a non-WiFi router from Sky? They are supposed to have a shop for their equipment but I can find it on their website.

      This WiFi router is not that great anyway. I can only get broadband using the cable link to the router. For some strange reason, I was able to get the WiFi link to work twice but otherwise I get this message "Problem applying Profile" which I can't understand nor resolve yet.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      If you're worried about it why not just turn off the wireless function of the router? If it is off then it isn't broadcasting anything.

    4. #3
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      I didn't know you could do that. I tried putting it in a biscuit tin thinking that the metal would shield the radiation in but I don't believe that has any effect as the strength of the signal is unchanged

      So how do I do that then?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

      Untick Enable Wireless Access Point

      Split off to seperate thread. here:




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I turn off the wireless?

      Thank you for the information. It was interesting to see all those details about my router. I have unticked the box for "Enable wireless access point" and clicked 'Apply' but when I look at my window "Wireless network found. Select one and click connect"; I still see the signal from my router at full strength - 5 green bars. It would appear that the WiFi signal is undiminished.

      Should I not be aiming for a total loss of WiFi signal ie no green bars or even disappearing from the menu of WiFi networks altogether?

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How do I turn off the wireless?

      The network could be a neighbour's?

      If you check the SSID number which is in the panel, just make sure it is the same. To be on the safe side rename it to mywireless and then apply that and check to see if still there.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      tdbsolutions's Avatar
      tdbsolutions is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      185
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I turn off the wireless?

      Disable the wireless function on your PC too, just right click on wireless icon and it should stay disabled until you want to enable it again.
      One day you are the pigeon, but most days just the statue ...

    9. #8
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I turn off the wireless?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      The network could be a neighbour's?

      If you check the SSID number which is in the panel, just make sure it is the same. To be on the safe side rename it to mywireless and then apply that and check to see if still there.

      Nope. That is definitely my router - it's got my SKY##### on it. I can also see the neighbours' signals. I'm the only one round here with SKY at the moment.

    10. #9
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I turn off the wireless?

      Quote Originally Posted by tdbsolutions View Post
      Disable the wireless function on your PC too, just right click on wireless icon and it should stay disabled until you want to enable it again.

      I'm not bothered by the laptop asking me if I wish to connect to a network. What I would like to do is to switch off the radiation emitted by my router as that Panorama program has got me all worried.

    11. #10
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I turn off the wireless?

      Quote Originally Posted by xyz View Post
      Nope. That is definitely my router - it's got my SKY##### on it. I can also see the neighbours' signals. I'm the only one round here with SKY at the moment.
      Oops! Sorry, I take back all I have just said above. I switched off the laptop, went away to do something else and have now returned to find that my signal's gone, vanished off the face of the earth.

      Hooray!! Thanks for the advice. I can now use the biscuit tin for something else, not that it was of much good anyway.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION