Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    automatically log on to network??

    This is a discussion on automatically log on to network?? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; my sister has just had sky broadband installed. her desktop computer connects via a sky supplied netgear usb adaptor. everytime ...

    1. #1
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      147
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      automatically log on to network??

      my sister has just had sky broadband installed. her desktop computer connects via a sky supplied netgear usb adaptor.
      everytime she switches on the computer she has to manually view networks and then connect to her sky router. how can we set this so that her computer will automatically connect to the router without having to go through this procedure.
      none of my computers have this problem and my old desktop has the same netgear adaptor as hers.
      checked through my settings and hers but can't see any differences. am i missing something??
      many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      armitasp's Avatar
      armitasp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: automatically log on to network??

      Goto Control Panel then Network Connections.

      Right click on the wireless adapter and choose properties.

      Click on the Wireless Networks tab.

      In the preferred networks list click on your wireless network.

      Click the properties button.

      Click on the Connection tab and tick the box "Connect when this network is in range"

    4. #3
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      147
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: automatically log on to network??

      many thanks armitasp
      will go round to sort this out for her!!

    5. #4
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      147
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: automatically log on to network??

      Quote Originally Posted by armitasp View Post
      Goto Control Panel then Network Connections.

      Right click on the wireless adapter and choose properties.

      Click on the Wireless Networks tab.

      In the preferred networks list click on your wireless network.

      Click the properties button.

      Click on the Connection tab and tick the box "Connect when this network is in range"
      hi just checked on my xp machine,
      there is no connection tab for the properties within the preferred networks list.
      am i missing something??

    6. #5
      armitasp's Avatar
      armitasp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: automatically log on to network??

      I think it was one of the things Microsoft added with a patch.

      Try to install Description of the Wireless Client Update for Windows XP with Service Pack 2

    7. #6
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: automatically log on to network??

      If you switch to using the wireless adapter's utilities to manage the connection instead of Windows you'll find that there's a facility to save a profile for the connection so that it connects automatically next time.

    8. #7
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: automatically log on to network??

      yes let the netgear adaptor software manage the connection not crap windows. (sorry Bill)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION