Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Dg834gt

    This is a discussion on Dg834gt within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have the DG834GT and yesterday I installed Vista. My lan is visible in the device manager but will not ...

    1. #1
      everton1995's Avatar
      everton1995 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneycroft Liverpool 13
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dg834gt

      I have the DG834GT and yesterday I installed Vista. My lan is visible in the device manager but will not connect or recognise the router.

      I phoned Sky and was told to go to Micrsoft to obtain a compatability patch, but he would not tell me the exact location of it. He said that the sky software is not compatable with vista and he cant help me because he is not allowed to direct me to third party sources.

      Im totally stuck. I have all the latest vista drivers for netgear.

      Help please


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      I doubt if Vista has any bearing on the matter. You don't specify whether you are using wireless -- but a Vista driver for the wireless adapter might be needed. The Sky/Netgear router does not need a driver.

      The most likely cause is a problem inputting the WPA encryption passphrase into the wireless adapter's (or perhaps Vista's) encryption interface.

      See the passphrase supplied by Sky and try applying it to the wirless adapter. If you have a non-Netgear adapter or an older 802.11b model, make a post here because you'll need further instructions.

      Also see Tutorials section of this site.

    4. #3
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    5. #4
      everton1995's Avatar
      everton1995 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneycroft Liverpool 13
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Im not using wireless

      I have 2 computers connected via the lan cable. One is running Xp and is working fine (internet connection ok) and the other is running Vista.

      I have just gone through Tier 2 to no avail.


      Newsreader wrote here > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...-software.html
      Vista and Sky Broadband work flawlessly, as long as you have a network card and it is detected and installed in Vista, thats all you need.

      Network detected, Vista installed....still not seeing router or any access via 192.168........

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      try:

      swapping ethernet cables over in case it's a damaged cable.
      try swapping lan ports on router in case its a faulty port on the router.
      try swapping the lan cards over to see if the lan card in vista pc does work okay in the xp pc (I know its showing in device manager).
      try checking any security settings in vista/security software in case that is set to block access.

      It's a process of elimination unfortunately.

    7. #6
      everton1995's Avatar
      everton1995 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneycroft Liverpool 13
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Dg834gt

      Yesssssssssssssssssssssssss


      Cheers it was the firewall settings in the Lan network. I had turned the master firewall turned off but for some reason the firewall was still on in the Lan settings.


      I cant believe all the hastle I had including Sky actually telling me it was incompatable, Netgear telling me that once it left the factory it was Vista enabled, and it was Skys fault for adding software.


      Anyway, thank you all for your time and consideration in this matter, especially the kopite



      Everton1995

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Quote Originally Posted by everton1995 View Post


      Anyway, thank you all for your time and consideration in this matter, especially the kopite



      Everton1995
      Yes I did have to go through a moral dilema before posting on this thread

    9. #8
      everton1995's Avatar
      everton1995 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneycroft Liverpool 13
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      You have another one now....

      The connection goes down again on reboot or updates. I did a system restore when everything was working fine. I then installed the updates and restarted the PC. Once restarted I loaded the sysyem restore, but the PC again did not recognise the router and refered to it as an "Unidentified Network"


      Amd 64x2 4800
      Sata II 250gig
      1.5 gig memory
      Nvidia 7600 GT

      15 meg download
      644 meg upload

    10. #9
      everton1995's Avatar
      everton1995 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneycroft Liverpool 13
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Solved the problem:

      The Asrock onboard Lan was not supported by my Vista 64 OS.
      I went to maplins and bought a PCI lan for 5 the chipset was the Realtek 8139D.

      The staff member stopped me from buying the 14 gigabit one because their own "White Box" range had the exact same chipset for 9 cheaper.....

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Dg834gt

      Gigabit wont really make a difference unless your on a Gigabit to Gigabit Network (LAN) As the router only supports like;

      Network Connection:
      • Wireless Data Speed of up to 108 Mbps
      • 5 x 10/100 (1 Internet and 4 LAN) network ports with auto-sensing technology

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION