Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

    This is a discussion on wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. My router`s wireless connection died, so Sky have sent me a new one. Reinstalled everything, and i can use ...

    1. #1
      bewlay's Avatar
      bewlay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      Hi.

      My router`s wireless connection died, so Sky have sent me a new one. Reinstalled everything, and i can use the net fine via the ethernet cable. However, although windows reports my wireless connection as being connected, without the ethernet cable connected, i cant acces the internet.

      If anyone has any ideas, id be happy to hear them.....ive followed the tutorial on this, and its made no difference.



      Thanks

      (edit)...some more information. In the router set up page, under attached devices, my wireless adapter is not showing up. Is it possible that the router cant "see" the wireless adapter, even though the adapter thinks its connected to it? Ive been trying for 4 days to get this sorted, and getting nowhere. Someone please help?
      Last edited by bewlay; 06-04-07 at 08:13 PM. Reason: further information


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Yak's Avatar
      Yak
      Yak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      I'm getting the same exact problem. Signal strength is quoted as excellent, but I can only browse with the ethernet cable.

      Any ideas?

    4. #3
      posiview's Avatar
      posiview is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      I have the same nightmare problem.

      Here are some obsewrvations from my experiences:

      When check my wireless connection I get a box that says:

      "Wireless Network Connection is now connected.

      Connected to: SKYXXXXX
      Signal Strength: Excellent".

      Also, when I vew the wireless connection via network connections activity shows 1,818 sent and 1,577 recieved.

      Also pinged my IP address and 4 pachets sent and 4 packets recieved.

      However, that I disconnect broadband cable and try and connect to internet I am unable to connect!!

      I'm sure the 3 of us hope you can assist!!

    5. #4
      don057's Avatar
      don057 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      Hope this helps:
      1/ uninstall your Sky Software – restart comp
      2/ re-install your Sky Software & follow the instructions
      3/If you have no connection – click on your browser – delete the address and
      Type in 192.168.0.1.
      This will open your Router Settings: type in ADMIN and (password) SKY.
      (At this stage “do not change anything!)

      Click on the test button: if it says error 300 – call Sky as they need to “unbundle” your line (again) to activate your connection (prob cap the speed the speed at 2-4megs):
      In which case “Good Luck”.

      If you had a previous provider then their settings will still be active!

      Right click on the connection icon (bottom right hand corner) and
      1/ click “properties”
      2/ “Right” click on TCP/IP settings

      There are 2-settings (1) IP Address (2) DNS Address

      1/ click on obtain “IP Address automatically”
      Or put in the following
      IP Address 192.168.0.2 (The “2” can be any number from 2 to 200)
      Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway 192.168.01


      Preferred : DNS address 192.168.0.1
      Alternate : DNS address “Leave it blank”

    6. #5
      Yak's Avatar
      Yak
      Yak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      The router is faulty, as I already have a netgear, and it works fine wirelessly.
      I'll just keep using my own, it's no biggie.
      I can plug it in if they want to check it anytime

    7. #6
      bignick8t3's Avatar
      bignick8t3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMDUSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800VDOX
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      N'pton
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      I am also suffering the same. If I connect my laptop via its ethernet connection it works great. As soon as I go wireless anything internet don't work ie Firefox, IE7, Avast anything that requires internet says it cannot connect.

      BUT the local area network is fine I can browse the router settings and my PC. All the IP addresses are assigned it's just when you try and use internet over the wireless it don't wanna know??

      Any info on this as assigning IP's manually didn't work.

      I have excellent connection status at 7298kbps downstream and 488kbps upstream.

      Many Thanks and you have a cracking forum here!!

      BIG Nick

    8. #7
      jason2202's Avatar
      jason2202 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      I'm also having the same problem - anyone had any luck solving their problem?

      1. I'm connected to the router (signal strength excellent) but can't browse the internet.

      2. If I disable WPA I have no problems browsing the internet on the unsecured network.

      3. I know the WPA settings are correct as my main laptop connects perfectly in WPA mode with problem-free internet browsing.

      4. Also like bewlay my problem laptop doesn't show up in 'attached devices' in the router config.

      Wondeing whether it might not be a problem with the Dlink G650 PCMCIA adapter software's handling of WPA, but I have the latest driver/utilty software and why would it report being 'connected' in WPA mode if if doesn't support it???


      I'm stuck for other things to try - any ideas?


      (edit) I read somewhere that there may be a problem with Dlink's older network adapters not supporting the newer WPA equipment, hence why many people may swear blind that it's not their adapter at fault; typically: "it works fine with Joe Blogg's router and worked fine with my older router". Was the previous set up WPA? It would help if people posted their hardware details. This might also explain why I can't connect to my neighbours WPA network despite knowing the password.
      Last edited by jason2202; 19-05-07 at 12:41 AM.

    9. #8
      colin103's Avatar
      colin103 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      have just recently switched over to sky bb

      the wirless side is a problem for me

      i keep loseing the network
      sky said it is downt to the settings wirless cards but as i did not get them from sky the could not advise me they then tried to sell m 3 new cards for my homenetwork

      i have now dissabled the wirless in the router and am using my old linksys router via ethernet cable and everything is fine

      i also have a modem router which i would like to use but i dont get any broadband signal on this when i try

      any suggestions as to what settings i need???
      thanks

      colin

    10. #9
      robert36's Avatar
      robert36 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      Got to network connections in control panel.
      Right click on your wireless adaptor and choose properties.
      delete the entry under preferred network- your sky router.
      It may also have entries for other routers in range so remove those as well.
      Open the app that came with the card.
      Make sure that widows does not handle the connection.
      look for wireless connections in range.
      choose your router.
      re-enter your wpa key at the prompt and that should connect you.
      it sounds like there is some confusion regarding the key.
      Seems a bit simple i know but it does work.

    11. #10
      jason2202's Avatar
      jason2202 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      ***

      Just to update you all on my earlier post as I've solved the problem!!!

      After several frustrating hours playing with every setting in every permutation I gave up and bought a cheap TP-Link USB Wireless adapter for £10. Connected to SkyBB router first time on WPA, and browsing the internet with ease.

      So I reckon the previous problem was the poor software provided by DLINK. They admit on their website that they no longer support the older adapters so beware as the software may not support newer routers.

      ***

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION