Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

    This is a discussion on wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Same problem. Phoned the nice people at tech support - twenty minutes of "security" needing just about everything short of ...

    1. #11
      victormeldrew's Avatar
      victormeldrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      Same problem.

      Phoned the nice people at tech support - twenty minutes of "security" needing just about everything short of my hat size before telling me that the Sky wireless router will not normally work with a wireless card unless the card had been supplied by Sky. Would I like to buy one? No I wouldn't because I have a perfectly good D-Link card which appears to be working properly. They said I have to contact D-Link and ask them to tell me how to connect to a Sky router.

      I suppose if I go and buy a wireless enabled computer made by HP, Sony, IBM or anyone else I would have to then contact the manufacturer to ask them to tell me how to make it work with a Sky router.

      The wireless card is clearly configured properly and working, the Sky router has all the right lights on or flashing, my desktop icon tells me that I am connected and I appear to be sending and receiving packets. Yet no chance whatsoever of accessing the internet and Sky people tell me it's nothing to do with them.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      jason2202's Avatar
      jason2202 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      VictorM - have you tried switching off the encryption in the router admin? If you find you can connect and surf while in unsecured mode then I'm pretty sure you're having the same problem that I had.

      I understand your frustration and likewise was reluctant to blame my Dlink setup which had served me so faithfully for a couple of years but after repeated attempts I had to concede that the WPA software handling of Dlink's older adapters has compatibility issues with the newer Netgear Router.

      Save yourself the hassle and get a cheap USB wi-fi adapter.

      Good Luck!

    5. #14
      jason2202's Avatar
      jason2202 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      Re: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view.php?pg=wireless

      There's some very good advice in that thread, but unfortunately it wasn't able to solve the Dlink/Sky-Router connection problem which I strongly suspect is an inherent Dlink WPA software handling issue. With Dlink no longer supporting some of the older PCMCIA adapters I fear that this may be a problem with no hope of a future solution.

      (edit) I also tried an Atheros driver but that didn't work either.

    6. #15
      Toffeecrisp's Avatar
      Toffeecrisp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      I had this same problem. wireless network connected but no internet gateway and the signal strength was excellent. just make sure that the network authentication is "wpa-psk" and the the data encryption is "TKIP" when setting up your network connection (ie when you find the sky signal and enter your encryption key! the settings are there)

    7. #16
      Clemon's Avatar
      Clemon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      Hi Jason

      I have similar problems and would like to try your Tp Link solution.

      Any chance you could tell me which model you are using?

      Many thanks.

      Carol

    8. #17
      jason2202's Avatar
      jason2202 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection says connected, but unable to browse the internet

      TP-LINK TL-WN321G, a doodle to install.

      Can't remember where I got it but was around 10.

      Otherwise I imagine most other USB Wi-Fi dongles will work, just that the TP-Link was cheap

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION