Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Wireless help required windows Vista

    This is a discussion on Wireless help required windows Vista within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by adlams Right router sky**** does appear so i know it is not that, have tried chnaging to ...

    1. #11
      skytech superuser's Avatar
      skytech superuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      andorra
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Quote Originally Posted by adlams View Post
      Right router sky**** does appear so i know it is not that, have tried chnaging to WEP 128bit clikc on sky**** put in new key code but still get same message.

      I have the updated broadcom drivers from the HP/Compaq site, but for the life of me I am uanble to connect to my wireless connection.

      Can connect Ok to unsureced connections within area, so is it a latop fault or a hidden Vista setting.
      ok disabled security from sky bb box and see if you can connect, if not its firewall on router that blocking access so you will need new router

      if you connect connect with it disabled change SSID to i.e home or whatever you want and reapply WEP 128-bit with new passphrase and click generate and ensure you enter it in as uppercase case when you need enter in network key

      hope it works


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      adlams's Avatar
      adlams is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Quote Originally Posted by skytech superuser View Post
      ok disabled security from sky bb box and see if you can connect, if not its firewall on router that blocking access so you will need new router

      if you connect connect with it disabled change SSID to i.e home or whatever you want and reapply WEP 128-bit with new passphrase and click generate and ensure you enter it in as uppercase case when you need enter in network key

      hope it works
      skytech superuser first of all thanks for all your help on this as it is driving me mad.

      I have disabled security and still unable to connect to that dam thing, so as you said does this mean that the firewall on router that blocking access and I ned to get a new router.

      Easier said than done hoe do I explain this to sky tec support and get them to send me a new router, without them trying to get me to buy a usb adtpt.

      I take it you work for Sky BB and ideas then how i get a new router?

    4. #13
      adlams's Avatar
      adlams is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Re my last reply.

      Seems to have gone all quiet since Saturday andyone any ideas how I can get a new router from SKY easier said than done how do I explain to sky tec support that my firewall has gone and get them to send me a new router, without them trying to get me to buy a usb adtpt.

    5. #14
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at £5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      It's not gone quiet, I am waiting for you to respond to my suggestion. There doesn't appear to be anything wrong with your router. Your old XP laptop works fine with it remember.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    6. #15
      adlams's Avatar
      adlams is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Quote Originally Posted by LNB View Post
      It's not gone quiet, I am waiting for you to respond to my suggestion. There doesn't appear to be anything wrong with your router. Your old XP laptop works fine with it remember.
      You suggested that i did the following:

      Try the HP wireless assistant. Download here > Software & Driver downloads*Compaq Presario C542EA Notebook PC

      I have alreday done this, and it still does not connect, but i can connect to next dors ok and they are on sky. But next door are ubale to connect to mine. both on vista.

    7. #16
      Chad's Avatar
      Chad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Hi adlams,

      Im afraid I cant offer you any help, but can tell you that your not on your own. Ive had sky BB max for 2 months now using it on 1 PC in my office upstairs which is connected through lan and running on XP, and one PC downstairs in my living room, which was/is still connected wireless on XP MCE.
      All was fine until I recieved my free upgrade to vista a few weeks back. Knowing how tempremental Vista can be, I opted to keep My XP MCE on my pc and install Vista as a secondary operating system atleast until I have sorted aout any issues.

      Since installing vista, and updating all drivers I have not been able to connect wirelessly, It will connect through lan no problem, and the adpater still works fine using XP MCE.
      I have the same symptoms as your PC where the adaptor recognises that the wireless network is in range, but after entering the network key, it will not connect.

      I have compared all of the wireless settings on XP MCE to the settings on Vista and cant see a difference, apart from Vista having more options.
      The PC with the problem is a Medion 8818 with a Ralink RT73 USB Wireless LAN Card.

      Im sure it will be something simple thats been overlooked.
      Although I have tried all of the suggestions in this post.

      Can anybody suggest anything else?

      I do want to start using Vista a bit more but until I get round to plumbing Cat5 into every room of my house the only solution is a lovely green cat5 cable from my office upstairs to my living room, unless I stick to using XP.

      Thanks

    8. #17
      adlams's Avatar
      adlams is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Found this, have not yet had chnace to look at it as I am at work. Could be a reason why my laptop does not connect.

      Wireless access is a key feature in Windows Vista, and it needs to work as reliably as possible for users. In the final version of Windows Vista, the default power setting for 802.11 wireless adapters was changed to “Maximum Performance” to offer seamless wireless access experience and solve connectivity issues with certain access points. Users and OEMs can change the setting value to deliver additional power savings, if they want to further extend the battery life.

      Context

      Test results from Microsoft and our customers show that some Windows Vista beta users experienced connectivity problems when connecting to public WiFi hotspots. In many cases, the root cause of the problem is access point or router hardware which is not compatible with the 802.11 power save protocol. The symptoms of the problem are either failing connections or extremely poor connection performance and throughput. Typically, these problems are experienced only when the computer is on battery power—connecting to AC power solves the issue.

      By default, Windows Vista enables many platform power management features, including wireless adapter power saving modes. On all Windows Vista systems, the default power plan is Balanced, and pre-release versions of Windows Vista enabled Medium Power Savings for the 802.11 wireless adapter when the computer is on battery power. When the computer is on AC power, Maximum Performance (no power savings) is enabled for the 802.11 wireless adapter. This explains why connecting to AC power solves the connectivity issue for many users, as did changing the power plan to High Performance or changing the wireless adapter power setting to Maximum Performance in Power Options.

      When power save mode is enabled for an 802.11 wireless network adapter, the adapter periodically enters a low-power state where the radio transmitter and receiver are in “sleep” mode. The wireless adapter in the computer (client adapter) indicates the “sleep” mode by setting the power save option in its packets or 802.11 frames sent to the access point. The access point receiving frames with the power save option set determines that the client adapter wishes to enter power save mode, and begins buffering packets for the client adapter while it is asleep. The client adapter’s radio periodically wakes up and communicates with the access point to retrieve the buffered packets. This scheme enables the wireless adapter to consume less power by sleeping and waking periodically, just at the right time to receive network traffic from the access point.

      However, this power savings scheme for 802.11 wireless adapters depends on cooperation of the access point. The problem is that many access points do not implement or support the power save feature correctly. Some broken access points keep sending the packets to the client—even when the client adapter’s radio is asleep. The packets sent to the client radio while it is asleep are lost, which leads to the connectivity, performance and throughput issues that some Windows Vista beta users were encountering.

      Wireless access is a key feature in Windows Vista, and it needs to work as reliably as possible for users. In the final version of Windows Vista, the default power setting for the 802.11 wireless adapter is “Maximum Performance”. This means, that by default, on battery power or on AC power, wireless adapters will not use power-saving modes. OEMs are able to change any power setting when they are building systems with Windows Vista, so the setting might be different on a machine released with Windows Vista. The obvious downside to the power setting change is a potential decrease in computer battery life. But, it may be difficult to diagnose the root cause of the wireless connectivity problem, so the wireless power setting was changed accordingly for the most common default case.

      If you want to re-enable power savings for your 802.11 wireless adapter, you can easily do this in Windows Vista. There are two primary ways:

      Change the wireless power saving setting:
      Open Power Options in Control Panel
      Choose Change Settings for the current power plan
      Choose Change Advanced Power Settings
      Expand Wireless Adapter Settings
      Expand Power Saving Mode
      Choose Maximum Power Saving, Medium Power Saving, Low Power Saving to enable various levels of 802.11 power save modes.
      Choose the Power Saver power plan:
      Click on the battery meter on the desktop and choose Power Saver.
      The Power Saver plan has 802.11 power saving mode enabled for both battery and AC power.
      Microsoft is committed to both seamless wireless access and extended battery life. We are actively working with industry partners to fix wireless access points so they work correctly with 802.11 power save mode.

    9. #18
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at £5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      You can attempt to connect manually - see here.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    10. #19
      adlams's Avatar
      adlams is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: Wireless help required windows Vista

      Quote Originally Posted by LNB View Post
      You can attempt to connect manually - see here.
      Have even tried this but still unjbale to connect. Looking on a few sites this seems to be a commmon problem with Vista PC's. Some poeple can connect ok others are unbale too.

      I think it depnds on the make of the PC/laptop and which built in wireless kit you have.

      I know the router is ok as i can connect via cable, I know built in wireless works as i can connect to other unsecure networks, but not sure if these are sky accounts or not. The ones i can connect to are belkin routers, but not sky/netgear.

      one may try buying the usb adpt from sky to see if it will conect via that rather than the built in one on the laptop.

    11. #20
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless help required windows Vista




      oops excuse my spelling

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION