Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    LAN connection help

    This is a discussion on LAN connection help within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Problem with LAN connection from PC to router. I have had SKY BB for about 1 week & been surfing ...

    1. #1
      robotphil's Avatar
      robotphil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question LAN connection help

      Problem with LAN connection from PC to router. I have had SKY BB for about 1 week & been surfing etc quite happily. Went to go on onternet & couldnt. Noticed LAN icon had warning triangle & checked. Says status is little or no connectivity. Help!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      Have you tried re-booting the router & PC.
      Also, do you have link lights showing on both the router and PC?

      If the above is true, check the network settings TCP/IP section for the network connection are on obtain Ip address automatically and obtain DNS servers automatically.

    4. #3
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      yes a simple reboot of pc and router normaly fixes this problem, thats if its the simple solution

    5. #4
      punkrock101's Avatar
      punkrock101 is offline Junior Member
      Exchange: NIWBY- Whiteabbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub & Sky Q Booster
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Newtownabbey
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      Did you try and reset the router by pressing the reset button on the back beside the power port. this will reset your router to factory settings

    6. #5
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      Quote Originally Posted by punkrock101 View Post
      Did you try and reset the router by pressing the reset button on the back beside the power port. this will reset your router to factory settings
      The reset will just re-boot if you press it quickly, it will restore the factory settings if you hold it for about 10 seconds.

    7. #6
      trevvfr's Avatar
      trevvfr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      lancashire
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      Quote Originally Posted by robotphil View Post
      Problem with LAN connection from PC to router. I have had SKY BB for about 1 week & been surfing etc quite happily. Went to go on onternet & couldnt. Noticed LAN icon had warning triangle & checked. Says status is little or no connectivity. Help!!!
      hi every one can this be done manually?

    8. #7
      robotphil's Avatar
      robotphil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: LAN connection help

      Thanks everybody rebooted router all OK now.

    9. #8
      traineetech's Avatar
      traineetech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      Quote Originally Posted by robotphil View Post
      Problem with LAN connection from PC to router. I have had SKY BB for about 1 week & been surfing etc quite happily. Went to go on onternet & couldnt. Noticed LAN icon had warning triangle & checked. Says status is little or no connectivity. Help!!!
      a problem that has been bugging the hell outa me i have just switched to sky bb was on aol before and my old routers worked quite happly thru my nforce lan then u plugged in the netgear router from sky and voila limited connectivity if i plug it in to the marvell lan (i have dfi board) it works straight away. Now to make it even worse if i assign an ip address to it and dns and subnet it works on nforce lan but my other routers work ok set to auto obtain p.s running vist and all drivers uptodate from nvidia site

      any help would be great

    10. #9
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      Arrgh - N-Force. I have one of those on my work PC, sometimes it will only work if I set it manually to 100Mbit Half duplex in the hardware settings.

      Maybe you could try that. Though I think you should be ok on 100MBit full duplex on the Sky router.

    11. #10
      traineetech's Avatar
      traineetech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LAN connection help

      didn't work must be something to do with nforce lan cards on motherboards lol i will stick to the marvell one for time being

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION