Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 108

    Are you on MAX and been capped at 416 Up ?

    This is a discussion on Are you on MAX and been capped at 416 Up ? within the Website news forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I'm not actually capped to 416 (768) - but they capped me at 8096 as I was having problems. My ...

    1. #21
      TheBugster's Avatar
      TheBugster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm not actually capped to 416 (768) - but they capped me at 8096 as I was having problems. My Exchange is definitely ADSL2+ enabled, which is part of the reason I went with the Max (my bro is with BeThere down the road and he is connected at 18Megs)

      Here are my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.0 db 16.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.9 db 13.0 db

      I am approx 600m from the exchange. When I signed up I was told my line was only capable of doing 12.5 megs - not a problem.

      When I got activated I was first of all connected at 15.5 megs, and so the helpful lady in tech support said Tier3 would need to cap the line down to 12.5 - again, fair enough, if too much data is coming down the line I would expect lots and lots of problems. So they finally capped the line, not at 12.5 like I expected, but down to 8 as you can see above. So I called up and finally got hold of a Tier3 guy and the notes said they tried from 12-9 but still had lots of errors on the line. Going to 8 sorted the problem out - which he said also moved you on to standard ADSL.

      Does anyone think this sounds right? Reason I ask is that he gave me some other rubbish information about some other questions I had and 1 response to fix a problem would be that whenever a new firmware comes out, the router will AUTOMATICALLY get upgraded, and also he had never heard of UPNP. Surely if an exchange is ADSL2+ capable, then I should be able to get it? My line can apparantly support 12.5, so it seems odd I need to move down to 8.

      If anyone has got any tips or things Sky can do, please let me know! Sorry about the long msg.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      valhalla's Avatar
      valhalla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 db 20.9 db
      Noise Margin 10.1 db 12.5 db


      as above had the same probs i started off on 9 megs but they said my line was unstable (it kept diconnecting) fair enough so they capped me down to 6 megs something to do with noise margin only been on 7db anyways on 6mb all was ok line noise went up to 15 (guy at sky says 10 db would be ok ) so when i rang them up and got through to tier3 she almost refused to try it at 8mb i had to demand she put it up to 8mb because i was previously on 9mb

      grrrrr

      al seams ok know no disconnection in the last three days was getting them every hour when i was on 9 mb

    4. #23
      netgal's Avatar
      netgal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool broadband max speeds

      how do you test for the broadband speeds

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      netgal

      go to your browser bar and type in 192.168.0.1

      username: admin

      password: sky

      at the bottom of the page should be statistics copy and paste that info


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #25
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Also you could always downgrade, But remember you are paying for the SO-Called UNLIMITED bandwidth?:

    7. #26
      sti5312's Avatar
      sti5312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4352 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 13.0 db

    8. #27
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Your uploads have been capped


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #28
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Your uploads have been capped
      ? Is this a stayement of confirmation from sky or what ?

    10. #29
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      nope, my own general statement.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #30
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      But its obvious.. If your uploads are at 416Kbps, Then you more than likely have been capped, If not by Sky but by some glitch in the router, Like the 15.5db thing!

      But i wouldnt suspect the router as people have posted using other modems/routers with the same 416kbps cap!

     

     
    Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO