Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 108

    Are you on MAX and been capped at 416 Up ?

    This is a discussion on Are you on MAX and been capped at 416 Up ? within the Website news forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Just checked my stats today, and the upload has been fixed: ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 5536 kbps 768 ...

    1. #91
      Steve Gill's Avatar
      Steve Gill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Station ESLVS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just checked my stats today, and the upload has been fixed:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5536 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 14.0 db

      It's still G.DMT though:

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5536 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 49.0 28.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 9.6
      Max(Kbps): 6144 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 5536 768


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      wintersyve's Avatar
      wintersyve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Same here, my upstream connection speead has been fixed as of this morning too.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 13.7 db 13.0 db


      I'm still convinced with my line attenuation that I should be getting higher speeds if I am on LLU? Can someone please confirm? Have been live on skyBB for 12 days now.

      Thanks!

      Eva
      ~~ Lead me not into temptation, I can find it myself ~~

    4. #93
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,083
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      If you really have an attenuation of 15.5db then yes you should be getting close to 16000kbps.

      However, the 15.5db bug is well known. Nobody seems to know the cause but for some reason the router misreports the attenuation as 15.5db.

      Rebooting the router will often clear it. Resetting the router almost always does.

      However, your connection at 8096 with a noise margin of 13.7db makes me strongly suspect that Sky have capped you at 8meg for some reason.
      Last edited by Saturday; 16-12-06 at 09:46 AM.

    5. #94
      wintersyve's Avatar
      wintersyve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well, did a test and checked a few other resources and all state that I am 1.03KM from exchange as the crow flies and that is right as I know exactly where my exchange is.

      Should I contact Sky and find out?
      ~~ Lead me not into temptation, I can find it myself ~~

    6. #95
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,083
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      Sadly, the straight line distance often isn't the actual line length. However, a line length of 1.1km will give you an attenuation somewhere around 15db.

      Ideally, you'll try and clear the 15.5 with a reboot/reset to check whether that is the correct figure or not.

      In my view, yes you should call Sky. If you reboot your router and your connection speed stays at 8096 with a noise margin significantly greater than 6.9db then this is a strong indication that they have set you up incorrectly or capped you.

      Brace yourself for a battle though. You'll almost certainly have to get higher than Tier 1 before you'll get any sense from them about this . Insist on having a ticket raised and keep a note of the number. You should then get a call back from Tier 3.

    7. #96
      wintersyve's Avatar
      wintersyve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks so much SatDish, I'll give it a go - I'm very good/productive at complaining although Sky may just beat me on this if it's that much of a struggle!!

      ~~ Lead me not into temptation, I can find it myself ~~

    8. #97
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,083
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      OK summersyve

    9. #98
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi i got activated on the 18th here are my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 14.0 db
      Noise Margin 16.2 db 14.0 db

    10. #99
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max VIP
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD VIP
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4352 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 14.0 db

    11. #100
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      According to Sky tech my exchange is running at full capacity on its ADSL2+ hence the reason why i`m still on ADSL1, not too fussed TBH i`m just grateful the migration went through smoothly.

     

     
    Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO