Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    New functionality added to forums

    This is a discussion on New functionality added to forums within the Website news forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; We have tonight added a new feature to our forums. This gives you as a member the ability to open ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      New functionality added to forums

      We have tonight added a new feature to our forums.

      This gives you as a member the ability to open an issue, (just open a new thread in the desired forum) and once it is resolved, if you close the thread will move the thread into a closed issues part of the parent forum.

      For this to work, once your issue has been resolved, we need you to mark your post as closed, this is done from the thread tools option, just above your initial post.

      Once the post has been closed, it will move the thread to the closed issues section located on the last page of the current forum. ie page 7. When a user then searches for a particular issue, it should show in the search.

      If at any time you need to reopen your particular issue, just go back to the original thread and choose open, fron the thread tools. Any member that searches or finds your resolved thread, will get one of the following messages:

      Staff - "This issue has been resolved! The thread starter may re-open it if he wishes."

      Thread Starter - "This issue has been resolved! You may re-open it if you are still having problems."

      Other Users - "This issue has been resolved! If you have a similar issue, please create a new thread." (link)
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 23-10-06 at 09:15 PM.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Nemesis's Avatar
      Nemesis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMHED
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      South Staffs
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ooh! Nice idea. This should be cool if it works out.

    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
      I have never seen this done before, is this a new function with this version of vBulletin ?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48



      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Does this work for all posts or only for those generated after the Hack was introduced?

      Went to close one thread of my initiation since it's purpose has ended, but no option under Thread Tools visible.

      Dave
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

    7. #6
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Partially answering my own post above, I have today started a new thread, and when I tried to stop it as an experiment, there are NO options to do so in the Thread Tools menu.


      Err, what now please????????


      Dave
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      ummm

      Hang on and i will check and get back to you.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      SkyUser Admin's Avatar
      SkyUser Admin is offline Skyuser Adminbot
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      on a hard drive
      Posts
      1,284
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi bravedan

      The close thread now works forgot to change the usergroup

      Does this work for all posts or only for those generated after the Hack was introduced?
      Should work on all posts you yourself have ever made

      Went to close one thread of my initiation since it's purpose has ended, but no option under Thread Tools visible.
      Can you try and let us know in this thread?

      Thx

    10. #9
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yup, worked perfectly now...........................

      Dave
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      cool - i like it when things work


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO