Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 60

    New Beta Speedtester Page

    This is a discussion on New Beta Speedtester Page within the Website news forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by newbuilder Not a problem, all part of the Beta Test experience. What about having (in your fancy ...

    1. #41
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Not a problem, all part of the Beta Test experience.

      What about having (in your fancy tables):

      Your package (same headings but having the ACTUAL download speed and upload speed that has been recorded.

      And then having the table below headed:

      Average Download statistics for INSERT NAME OF PACKAGE: (rather than your package - again so it does not confuse people)

      And then having another table:

      Average download speed of UK ISPs:
      Still work in progress. It now shows you your speed in the box with the heading of Your test results - as an added extra, if you are a member of SkyUser this will now also record your previous tests.

      Also the select package has now been added

      As a guest trying the speedtester, it would not record the previous tests taken.

      We are aware of some cosmetic problems, ie images not showing etc and these will be corrected over the next few days.

      Hopefully once this has been redone, it will also present an image to use as a signature to show your speeds. (this has always been the end goal - hence the beta trial of it)
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New Beta Speedtester Page-speedtesterbeta.jpg  
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 22-07-08 at 02:29 AM.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      majorpart's Avatar
      majorpart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Ashgrove
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      I sync at 16383 but it Seems there is a difference between speeds of speedtest.net and this sites speedtest.

      This site: 22 July, 2008 04:46:30 13296 Kbs 755 Kbs

      Speedtest.net
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/299149621.png
      (before you ask I have a 990 upload sync)

      As you can see those were done within minutes of each other at this unholy hour
      Did it a few times, same.

      Also Just to let you know If i use my ADSL24 line it states the same issue that "skypaulusplus" has.

      ie select your ENTANET package then we have no more info and i cannot cancel it off the screen etc...
      Last edited by majorpart; 22-07-08 at 04:59 AM.

    4. #43
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Problems:

      After starting the test and then selecting my package (noticed the change to please select as first option- well done)

      The results screen shows:

      We have detected that your ISP is . Your download speed is Kbps. Your upload speed is Kbps.

      and then my own result table below:

      Can the text above the tables be deleted and just have "We have detected that your ISP <ISP> and you have told us your package is <PACKAGE> ?"
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #44
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by majorpart View Post
      Also Just to let you know If i use my ADSL24 line it states the same issue that "skypaulusplus" has.

      ie select your ENTANET package then we have no more info and i cannot cancel it off the screen etc...
      Noted, will advise to developer.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #45
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Problems:

      After starting the test and then selecting my package (noticed the change to please select as first option- well done)

      The results screen shows:

      We have detected that your ISP is . Your download speed is Kbps. Your upload speed is Kbps.

      and then my own result table below:

      Can the text above the tables be deleted and just have "We have detected that your ISP <ISP> and you have told us your package is <PACKAGE> ?"

      Leave it with me to see what we can sort. Thanks again.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #46
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Some more changes tonight - feedback if possible? Thanks


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #47
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Seems a little delay after clicking submit and it collating the data.

      Looking much better but if there had to be a few changes it would be:

      1) Labelling the "Your package" in a clearer way so that it showed that it was not their results.

      e.g. Average < ENTER PACKAGE NAME> Stats

      2) Making the current data in your paragraph at the top of the page Bold. (i.e. the download and upload figure).

      3) Possibly rewording the paragraph to include "current" before downlaod and upload to show that this has just been obtained.

      I know I am being picky but you are doing a grand job!
      * Information in < > could be collected from elsewhere in the page.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    9. #48
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      I got these results:

      We have detected that your ISP is Virgin. Your download speed is 18296Kbps. Your upload speed is 700Kbps.
      Please select your Virgin package:

      Sorry! We don't have any more information about your ISP.

      and there was no dropdown to select package and the upload test dragged.

    10. #49
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      as with me but bt(and word dl speed)

    11. #50
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1310 View Post
      Please select your Virgin package:

      Sorry! We don't have any more information about your ISP.

      and there was no dropdown to select package and the upload test dragged.
      1) Great - it detected your ISP

      2) No dropdown as we haven't added the packages yet

      3) Upload test will drag at late night / early morning, as that is the quietest time and the site would be being backed up

      4) Thanks!


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO