Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 60

    New Beta Speedtester Page

    This is a discussion on New Beta Speedtester Page within the Website news forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by unity The test says that i am on the Mid package, but i am on the Max ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by unity View Post
      The test says that i am on the Mid package, but i am on the Max package plus it says that my download speed is only 10M hen its not.
      Sorry, I don't understand, you have to select the package you are on in the drop down menu, once the test presents your results. On hindsight, yes we will change that so it says choose package or similar. As it is at the moment it looks like it has automatically chosen that package.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16383 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.5 db 11.7 db
      Noise Margin 10.8 db 16.0 db

      The speed tester does not reflect my actual download capacity, and can i go on 24M if it is possible, please, please, :- ))
      lol - Was the speed for downloads what you would have expected to see?

      As for 24mb I will find my magic wand and sort it for you, give me about an hour
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 19-07-08 at 11:15 PM.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Not a problem, all part of the Beta Test experience.

      What about having (in your fancy tables):

      Your package (same headings but having the ACTUAL download speed and upload speed that has been recorded.

      And then having the table below headed:

      Average Download statistics for INSERT NAME OF PACKAGE: (rather than your package - again so it does not confuse people)

      And then having another table:

      Average download speed of UK ISPs:
      Thank you for the useful feedback, the Speedtester has been packaged for us now, as in so we can reinstall on any of our sites, (I signed it off this afternoon) I will ask the coder on how to implement the above, sometime tomorrow and see if it is an easy enough change to do. I do agree with what you are saying though.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,278
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      An hour ? go and stand in the corner with glenn


    5. #14
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by unity View Post
      The test says that i am on the Mid package
      The pop up box that appears after the test is not saying you are Mid but asking you to choose from the list.

      Note to NEWSREADER:

      Could this pop up box say, these are your speeds, please select YOUR PACKAGE:

      First option saying PLEASE SELECT....

      Rather than SKY MID?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Note to NEWSREADER:

      Could this pop up box say, these are your speeds, please select YOUR PACKAGE:

      First option saying PLEASE SELECT....

      Rather than SKY MID?
      Great suggestion, why didn't Glenn spot that?


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Thank you for the useful feedback, the Speedtester has been packaged for us now, as in so we can reinstall on any of our sites, (I signed it off this afternoon) I will ask the coder on how to implement the above, sometime tomorrow and see if it is an easy enough change to do. I do agree with what you are saying though.

      No problem Newsreader, glad to see that my input is valuable, so many times end users fill in feedback and see nothing happen. .... thinking about SKY.com website feedback.. the amount of times I have agreed that the planner should allow series links to be sent to Sky+ and still no sign of it!

      And you are seeing what you could do within the hour!

      EDIT: I am also emphasising uding the term YOUR PACKAGE, in the drop down so that they can relate it to the table..
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      The pop up box that appears after the test is not saying you are Mid but asking you to choose from the list.

      Note to NEWSREADER:

      Could this pop up box say, these are your speeds, please select YOUR PACKAGE:

      First option saying PLEASE SELECT....

      Rather than SKY MID?
      Sort of fixed, it now says:

      Please select your {speedtest_isp} package:

      Will get the option to select put in the drop down box hopefully tomorrow.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Just tried another speedtest.

      I am getting the download side of things but the upload is freezing. This happens on both the old and new system.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    10. #19
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,278
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Great suggestion, why didn't Glenn spot that?
      Coz hes still in the corner ?


    11. #20
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Beta Speedtester Page

      speedtest worked this morning. All be it with a small delay in monitoring the upload.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO