Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Downstream Attenuation = 15.5dB ????????

    This is a discussion on Downstream Attenuation = 15.5dB ???????? within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Okay I've asked this question before and was told it was a feature of the router but I'm not convinced. ...

    1. #1
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub - No idea whether it is an ER110 or ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      228
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Downstream Attenuation = 15.5dB ????????

      Okay I've asked this question before and was told it was a feature of the router but I'm not convinced.

      My downstream attenuation is now showing 15.5dB - it has only started doing this recently after a consistent reading over the last 6 years of 47dB.

      When it first started a couple of weeks ago I reported it here and I was told it was a known 'feature' of the router and would correct itself with a reboot - and sure enough it did.

      But today it is stuck on 15.5 and no end of reboots will shift it.

      As an experiemnt I tried my old LinkSys router expecting to see 47dB - but know, this one shows 8dB.

      So it's not the router - it must be something about the line/exchange.

      I wouldn't mind if I beleived it was 15.5dB but my line is actually getting worse not better - over the last 2 weeks I have lost SNR resulting in a drop of 2000 in the sync (6500 down to 4500) and a drop of 1200 in real measure download (5200 down to 4000).

      Any ideas - is this a sign that there is something wrong with the line/exchange?

      I have already isolated my house wiring and ruled that out.

      Cheers,

      Nigel
      Last edited by nheather; 14-12-06 at 10:47 AM. Reason: typo - SNR when I meant attenuation


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      HHMM.
      So your line noise has dropped but so have your speeds?
      Post full line stats please.
      Last edited by NoXioUs; 14-12-06 at 11:14 AM.

    4. #3
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub - No idea whether it is an ER110 or ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      228
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @NoXioUs

      I made a typo that I corrected this morning but can't change the title.

      It is my Downstream attenuation that is being reported as 15.5dB.

      This is clearly nonesense - it has been 48dB ever since I first started using broadband in 2001 - it can't possible have dropped as much as that and if it had done my sync speed would increase.

      The point is something is causing it to be reported as 15.5dB when it quite clearly isn't.

      I had been lead to beleive that it was a known feature of the router but I can replicate it with a different make/model of router.

      My stats from install (4th Oct) to one week ago were

      Downstream Attenuation - 47dB
      Downstream SNR Margin - 8.5dB
      Sync - 6500

      About a week ago my stats changed to

      Downstream Attenuation - 47dB
      Downstream SNR Margin - 8.5dB
      Sync - 4500

      And yesterday my stats changed to

      Downstream Attenuation - 15.5dB
      Downstream SNR Margin - 8.5dB
      Sync - 4500


      My internal wiring has been isolated and ruled out.
      I have tried different routers to rule out a router problem.

      Any ideas?

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I made a typo that I corrected this morning but can't change the title.
      I have changed it for you When you edit your post, if you click on the advanced at the bottom, you should be able to change it there, iirc




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub - No idea whether it is an ER110 or ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      228
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      When you edit your post, if you click on the advanced at the bottom, you should be able to change it there, iirc
      This is what I did this morning. But it doesn't change the main title it just puts a sub-title in the original post which is only visible in the post itself.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      ahhh - must be an admin thingy then.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub - No idea whether it is an ER110 or ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      228
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rebooted yesterday and my attenuation is now back to 48dB.

      Any idea how the downstream attenuation is reported.

      I assumed that the router calulates which is why different routers give slightly different results.

      But 15.5dB is obviously a nonesense figure and the fact that two different routers reported the attenuation as ridiculously low suggests that either

      (a) There is a weird condition on the line which confuses the routers into giving invalid readings

      (b) The exchange sends attenuation status information as part of the connection and the wrong figure is being sent.

      Also do you think that getting these weird readings is an indication of a line fault?

      Any ideas?

      Cheers,

      Nigel

     

     

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION