Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 247
    Like Tree8Likes

    Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

    This is a discussion on Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; MER is now working Some users have now confirmed that they have connected with MER and have successfuly obtained an ...

    1. #1
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Sky's MER and 3rd Party Routers

      MER is now working
      Some users have now confirmed that they have connected with MER and have successfuly obtained an IP. The method used varies between routers; I have added a page at MER - PH-Mb Wiki which lists some of them (If you have any success with any other routers, please feel free to add the method you used to that page).

      Thanks to everyone who helped to figure this out (and to Billion for actually implementing it)!

      Working Routers:


      Further instructions available at MER - PH-Mb Wiki.
      Original Message:
      Over at Sagam F@st 2504 Username Password raz0r managed to find his sky username and password in the command line for dhcpc (the dhcp client application). When connected using MER dhcpc is used to obtain an IP address from the sky servers, usually this would never require any kind of password.

      People have been having trouble getting MER to work with third party routers, the router would never obtain an IP address (using a previously allocated ip from a sky router, DeeJayDee did however managed to get it to work until an ip change). Now this is what I think is happening:

      In a DHCP request the client (in this case the router) will send an identification string to the DHCP server. This string is usually the client's MAC address. On the sky routers this string has been overridden (using dhcpc's -d switch). This string now contains the current firmware version, the hardware serial, the string "skysg2", another hardware serial and most importantly the PPP username and password. If a third party router can be made to mimic this (I am not sure if any routers provide a way of setting this string?), Sky's MER implementation would work.

      I do not yet know the exact format of the string (it starts with firmwareversion|2ndHardwareSerial|skysg2|1stHardwa reSerial), if someone with sky router tool installed could check the full command line on a 2504 (see Sagam F@st 2504 Username Password) and pm me it, I could work it out completely (I am still on PPPoA so cannot see this on my own router).
      Last edited by mrmt32; 02-05-12 at 10:38 PM.

    2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mrmt32 For This Useful Post:

      CaptainSwing (11-06-12),Scubbie (30-12-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,123
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Come on all you Sagem 2504 moaners, sorry users, send the info to MRMT so he can help you out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #3
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      The manpage I was reading (Manpage of dhcpcd) seems to suggest that -d is for logging debug output

      My Sky BB goes live next week and I haven't got the router yet so don't know which model it will be, however I'd prefer to use a Modem that I can bridge so I can have my SKY assigned IP on my Routerboard.

      I'm prepared to double NAT if I really have to but I'd like to avoid it if I can, Not removing the RB either as It's also doing the routing for Both my DSL lines. (One's migrating from Murphx to Sky)

      Anyway If I end up on MER and am able to get access to the sky router using one of the tools available then I'm happy to provide any assistance I can in getting the required info

    6. #4
      Lucose's Avatar
      Lucose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      You will definitely be on MER, with the Sagemcom 2504n. In most cases though, you can extract/generate your PPPoA password and connect that way (for now).

      However, in my own case, I prefer not to be on PPPoA because Sky have essentially deprecated it on their network and if problems occur I'd automatically place it down to this! And of course you'd break the T&C, not that it especially bothers Sky.

      So yeah, MER continues to be a thorn in my side.

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,123
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      I prefer not to be on PPPoA because Sky have essentially deprecated it on their network
      How do you work this out?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #6
      Lucose's Avatar
      Lucose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Sky have been switching customers from PPPoA to MER for a long time now. PPPoA is the old protocol, MER the new protocol, hence PPPoA is being deprecated.

    9. #7
      jamesworts's Avatar
      jamesworts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      I would love to give you the info but i have a 2504n, and from what i can see it isnt supported by router tool

      Any other ideas how I can get my DGN1000 to work on my MER line?

      Thnks

    10. #8
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      This line of the config backup caught my eye

      Layer3Config>?serviceId=0&amp;wanL2IfName=0_0_40&a mp;enblEnetWan=0&amp;ntwkPrtcl=2&amp;serviceName=i poe_0_0_40&amp;enblDhcpClnt=1&amp;dhcpcOp60VID=&am p;dhcpcOp61IAID=&amp;dhcpcOp61DUID=&amp;dhcpcOp125 Enabled=0&amp;enblNat=1&amp;enblFullcone=0&amp;enb lFirewall=1&amp;enblIgmp=0&amp;enblMld=0&amp;defau ltGatewayList=atm0&amp;dnsIfcsList=atm0&amp;dnsPri mary=0.0.0.0&amp;dnsSecondary=0.0.0.0&amp;dnsRefre sh=0</Layer3Config>
      I think it's using DHCP option 60 and 61 to pass some kind of authentication not sure about optiion 125
      Last edited by Isitme; 01-02-12 at 03:15 PM. Reason: Correcting code page overrun.

    11. #9
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      The manpage I was reading (Manpage of dhcpcd) seems to suggest that -d is for logging debug output
      This is dhcpc (client), not dhcpd (server), but you are right about -d not being what I thought it was (it is the -c switch that sets the client id). The man page for the dhcpc used by sky is at Ubuntu Manpage: udhcpc - very small DHCP client. Clearly there must be some kind of modification to it to add the -d switch (using dhcpc --help on the router does not list the -d switch either).

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      I think it's using DHCP option 60 and 61 to pass some kind of authentication not sure about optiion 125
      Interesting, this may be what the -d switch is doing. On the 2504 at least the authentication string passed to dhcpc is created 'on the fly' by cfm (an application on the router which performs a large number of tasks) and uses the same password generation function as the PPPoA connection process.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to mrmt32 For This Useful Post:

      dragon2611 (12-01-12)

    13. #10
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Whoops can't believe I didn't spot I was looking at the wrong man page

      Sadly I don't think I can get telnet access to this router, there was a line in the config that stated telnet was disabled but changing it to enabled doesn't appear to do much.

      I might have to goto PPPoA for now on my other router (If I swap them)
      Last edited by dragon2611; 12-01-12 at 12:38 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION