Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 247
    Like Tree8Likes

    Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

    This is a discussion on Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Credit where it is due, weldone Billion. Glad I have a billion and not a Netgear :-) Maybe this will ...

    1. #101
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Credit where it is due, weldone Billion.

      Glad I have a billion and not a Netgear :-)

      Maybe this will make Netgear get it's ass in gear or lose a lot of custom.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Quote Originally Posted by jcoles7 View Post
      Final/gold firmware with SKY MER support is 2 weeks away.

      Anyways, Billion thank you very much indeed

      Now we just need to see if it will work with SKY Fibre... Should do
      lol sure Sky are happy now.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #103
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Actually, what is the method that Sky have changed?

      How did Billion suss it out etc?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #104
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Actually, what is the method that Sky have changed?

      How did Billion suss it out etc?
      They said it was help from this forum, so weldone Skyusers too.

    6. #105
      jcoles7's Avatar
      jcoles7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad DRX895
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Actually, what is the method that Sky have changed?

      How did Billion suss it out etc?
      Hi,

      As far as I understand SKY decided that instead of using the MAC address to authenticate they have modified MER to have username and password authentication instead (so no need to even MAC Spoof) and also it sends a different DHCP command too. This is non standard MER implementation hence the what Billion have done for us :-))

      Cheers Jason

    7. #106
      Markie's Avatar
      Markie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Anymore info on what exactly as it may assist us who have Cisco kit that might already have the options to set just don't know what exactly to put in them?

    8. #107
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Quote Originally Posted by Markie View Post
      Anymore info on what exactly as it may assist us who have Cisco kit that might already have the options to set just don't know what exactly to put in them?
      All the information is in this thread (this thread is where Billion got their information from to create the beta firmware); all you need to set is the DHCP client identifier which has the format of:
      pppUsername|pppPassword

      Some routers will support setting this already, the majority require a firmware update however (such as Billions beta firmware).

      Real sky routers also send a vendor identifier, but this does not seem to be needed. I have written all the details of the process at MER - PH-Mb Wiki.
      Last edited by mrmt32; 06-04-12 at 03:59 PM.

    9. #108
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Great news indeed that we now have an option over the SKY only option for those that want it.

      However I am already connecting via MER using Sky's supplied router and just placing my Apple Airport Extreme in the DMZ of the sky router so it acts as my networks DCHP and Firewall, so I'm struggling to see how this will give me anything extra.

      Don't get me wrong I'm all for options, but can't figure out why I'd go out an buy one of the Billion routers.
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    10. #109
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Quote Originally Posted by nivek1612 View Post
      ...Don't get me wrong I'm all for options, but can't figure out why I'd go out an buy one of the Billion routers.
      With regards to connecting the two devices together, I know that it works just fine, but some people worry about the extra electric. Also some would have issues with the number of power sockets required whilst others would say it looks untidy.

      However by using your own router, it can be possible to tweak the connection settings, obtain more useful connection stats (i.e. CRC error count) and much more.

      For myself it also means that I can connect via VPN to another router should I wish to do so.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #110
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Sky's MER and why it does not work with other routers

      Thanks Scubbie

      As i suspected its all about options, your right as well about power and astetics but I've got a dedicated Server room (ok cabinet ) so one extra router makes little difference to me and its all tucked away out of sight.
      As for tweaking the settings that might appeal if the Billion router gave me a better SNR - i'm just holding 7db margin at the minute. Can anyone comment on the potential improvement the billion may make ?
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


     

     
    Page 11 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION