Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 160
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky router tool

    This is a discussion on Sky router tool within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Please don't tell me that this program has to have .NET version 3 installed, as I'm using Windows 2000 and ...

    1. #21
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Please don't tell me that this program has to have .NET version 3 installed, as I'm using Windows 2000 and you can't have .NET version 3 unless you've got XP or Vista.
      It does require .net 3.5 but I have managed to make a version compile with .net 2 (I just had to make a few minor changes). The next version (which I will release when I have done some more testing) uses quite a few .net 3.0 features however and would be hard to convert.
      Is there any reason you are still using windows 2000 by the way? Its quite an old operating system now, especially with windows 7 about to come out (which is very good, far better than vista haha).

      Anyway, you can get the .net 2.0 version at: http://www.sherrardinteriors.com/pH-...0.3_net2.0.rar


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Ok, new version! This version has full bandwidth and SNR margin logging and a web interface. See the first post for more details.

    4. #23
      Dave-H's Avatar
      Dave-H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing London W5
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky router tool

      Quote Originally Posted by mrmt32 View Post
      It does require .net 3.5 but I have managed to make a version compile with .net 2 (I just had to make a few minor changes). The next version (which I will release when I have done some more testing) uses quite a few .net 3.0 features however and would be hard to convert.
      Is there any reason you are still using windows 2000 by the way? Its quite an old operating system now, especially with windows 7 about to come out (which is very good, far better than vista haha).

      Anyway, you can get the .net 2.0 version at: http://www.sherrardinteriors.com/pH-...0.3_net2.0.rar
      Thanks so much Matt, that's brilliant!
      That version seems to work fine on my system.

      I assume that the new version you've just posted won't.

      As to why I've stuck with Windows 2000, it's mainly prejudice against newer operating systems which seem to be more about eye candy than functionality, but also because my system is highly customised, with things like personalised links between Windows Explorer folders, all of which I would lose if I upgraded (I think MS removed that facility because of perceived security threats, and you can only now use the links that they provide.) I steered clear of XP and Vista, but I will certainly look closely at Windows 7 as I have been hearing good things about it. I have a very powerful dual Xeon processor machine, and I do want to make the best use of it!

      Just one question about your program.
      If I set an "Auto Refresh" time, it doesn't seem to stick, and reverts to "Disabled" when I restart the program.
      Is that correct?
      Cheers, Dave.

    5. #24
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      I just googled for a way to use the .net 3.5 features with .net 2.0 and found LINQBridge. Using that I have managed to compile the new version using .net 2.0 !

      You can get it at: http://www.sherrardinteriors.com/pH-..._net2.0_r2.rar.

      The auto refresh time doesn't get saved over a program restart with the old version (never thought about putting that in really).
      Last edited by mrmt32; 17-08-09 at 01:45 AM.

    6. #25
      Dave-H's Avatar
      Dave-H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing London W5
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Unhappy Re: Sky router tool

      Quote Originally Posted by mrmt32 View Post
      I just googled for a way to use the .net 3.5 features with .net 2.0 and found LINQBridge. Using that I have managed to compile the new version using .net 2.0 !

      You can get it at: http://www.sherrardinteriors.com/pH-...ta1_net2.0.rar.

      The auto refresh time doesn't get saved over a program restart with the old version (never thought about putting that in really).
      Hi Matt,
      Thanks very much, but unfortunately it doesn't work for me!

      If I run setup.exe I just get a message saying that a prerequisite is .NET 3.5, and installer.msi says I need .NET 3.5 too, and I need to upgrade to at least Windows XP SP2!

    7. #26
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Whoops, I didn't realise the installer checked for .net 3.5 before allowing you to install . I have removed the check and it should now work:
      http://www.sherrardinteriors.com/pH-..._net2.0_r2.rar

    8. #27
      Dave-H's Avatar
      Dave-H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing London W5
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Thanks Matt. That version installs fine.

      Unfortunately, it doesn't work!

      When I run it all that happens is an error message pops up -



      I have no idea exactly what that all means, but I hope you do!
      Cheers, Dave.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky router tool-image1.jpg  

    9. #28
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Ah, you must have another service running on port 80, you are able to change the port on the configuration page but sky router tool errors and closes before you can get to it....

      I have fixed that now, you can get the updated version at http://www.sherrardinteriors.com/pH-...ta2_net2.0.rar.

      Hopefully it will now work for you .

    10. #29
      Dave-H's Avatar
      Dave-H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing London W5
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky router tool

      Thanks yet again Matt!
      That runs OK and I changed the port to 120, which is free.
      It has installed Microsoft SQL Server Compact Edition v3.5 and Microsoft Synchronization Services ADO.NET v1.0.
      Now I'm getting this when it runs -



      If I click Cancel everything disappears, but the router tool is still running in the Task Manager. If I click Retry the error message disappears but I'm left with an icon in the system tray that doesn't seem to do anything. If I try running the program again it runs my web browser with "connecting to localhost" but nothing ever appears.
      Any idea what's happening now?!
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky router tool-image2.jpg  

    11. #30
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Hmm that is an odd error, it is happening somewhere in a microsoft .net library and not in my code. I searched google for the error but I couldn't find any information on it. Is there any more information in your event logs somewhere?

      I just installed a windows 2000 virtual machine and tried the application in that and it worked fine, so it must be something to do with your computer's configuration. Maybe one of the services you have disabled?

      You may have tried this already but restarting your computer or ending the sky router tool.exe task in task manager might help (the reason why you are getting a web browser window coming up is because when another running process is detected it just tries to open the web interface instead of making a duplicate instance).

     

     
    Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 25-04-13, 04:41 PM
    2. 25-04-13, 04:38 PM
    3. 15-02-13, 04:38 PM
    4. 15-02-13, 04:32 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION