Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 6141516
    Results 151 to 160 of 160
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky router tool

    This is a discussion on Sky router tool within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Thanks for both your replys fttc not available downstream of the exchange, only recently activated upstream of the exchange. It's ...

    1. #151
      Derrymilk's Avatar
      Derrymilk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tulnacross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Thanks for both your replys
      fttc not available downstream of the exchange, only recently activated upstream of the exchange. It's a rural area, exchange is on my road about 1.75 miles above me, but 3 miles beyond that my inlaws are now getting fibre.

      My service just seems very hit and miss. I had contacted customer services a few months back, and they agreed it wasn't up to scratch, they did a few tests, then left it to the technicians. A few days later I got a text to say my problem had been resolved.
      There had been some improvement but I think it's gone backwards again.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #152
      Derrymilk's Avatar
      Derrymilk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tulnacross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 1:27:21
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 121759 111860 1:26:30
      LAN Up 54089 49140 7063 1012 1:27:21
      WLAN Up 38196 26023 282 12 1:27:01
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5344 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 dB 19.0 dB
      Noise Margin 15.5 dB 17.0 dB

      This evening
      Speedtest just returned: 1.14 and .38

    4. #153
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,953
      Thanks
      813
      Thanked 2,197 Times in 2,067 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Those stats confirm that the issue isn't your connection speed, rather the issues related to the Sky Connect product.

      Basically you are downloading too much and your connection speed is being capped. Although you have a 40GB per month allowance, think of it as averaged out to 1.3GB per day. Reduce your usage for a few days (perhaps a week) and your speed test will improve.

      In the mean time you may wish to contact Openreach to see if or when you will get Fibre:

      nga.enquiries @ openreach.co.uk

      Queries tend to take around 3 weeks at the present time. You should include your home address and postcode to help get an accurate answer.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #154
      Derrymilk's Avatar
      Derrymilk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tulnacross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Tbh, there's no way I've gone ove the 40gb lately.
      Yea, there are some months where my downloads could be quite big, but there's plenty of months where it's just surfing.
      If its a downloading limit being breached why don't sky tell you this?

    6. #155
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,953
      Thanks
      813
      Thanked 2,197 Times in 2,067 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Sorry, it isn't so much the going over the 40GB total limit, it is going over the 1.3GB daily limit on too many days.

      Things have been improved, but obviously they are not perfect.

      Interestingly it has been confirmed that in areas where FTTC is available, you may be able to order Sky Fibre products and enjoy the totally unlimited service. This is another reason why I suggested that you see if you could get FTTC.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #156
      Derrymilk's Avatar
      Derrymilk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tulnacross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Thanks Scubbie,

      i have checked lately, but no joy!

    8. #157
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,142
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      You have quite a low attenuation but a high noise margin. With BT (Connect) this usually means there is a problem with your line. How is your voice line for noise? Any noise on it can badly effect your BB speed.

      BT ADSLMax works on line profiles, if your Profile has been set low and it looks like yours has, no amount of NM tweaking will make any difference. Try doing an official BT test and go through the further diagnostics here - BTW Performance Test

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #158
      TishoG's Avatar
      TishoG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      Hi, I am new to SKY since I have been ported from Be Unlimited.
      Can I use this tool with Sky Hub SR102?
      Or is there similar tool working with Sky Hub SR102?

      Thanks

    10. #159
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,953
      Thanks
      813
      Thanked 2,197 Times in 2,067 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      The Sky Router tool is free and safe.

      Why not give it a try to see if it does work?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #160
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,142
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router tool

      I think you will find it does not work with the Hubs. Maybe MRMT32 will update it to work with the Hubs if he has the time and if it is possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 6141516

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 25-04-13, 04:41 PM
    2. 25-04-13, 04:38 PM
    3. 15-02-13, 04:38 PM
    4. 15-02-13, 04:32 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION