Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 41
    Like Tree3Likes

    Will I get more speed?

    This is a discussion on Will I get more speed? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My stats on the 9th day of DLM : ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 17761 kbps 1146 kbps Line ...

    1. #21
      syed.rahman's Avatar
      syed.rahman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      My stats on the 9th day of DLM:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17761 kbps 1146 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.5 dB 7.8 dB
      Noise Margin 3.1 dB 8.5 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      Hi syed.
      You miight be able to help me.

      I've noticed in you stats that whilst your downstream attenuation figure has remained at 23.5db, your upstream attenuation figure has fluctuated between 7.8db & 14.1db.
      Could i ask if that figure has ever changed in real-time (i don't know if that's even possible), or does it stay fixed between each re-sync?

      Thanks

    4. #23
      syed.rahman's Avatar
      syed.rahman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      Hi gymno. I've been through DLM a few times and I can say that the attenuation figures change after re-sync (early in the morning for instance), I can prove this by showing you my real-time stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17761 kbps 1146 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.5 dB 7.8 dB
      Noise Margin 3.1 dB 8.4 dB

      As you can see it hasn't changed since the last re-sync (which was at around 3-4am today), so I hope that's cleared things up a little for yourself.
      However, the only thing that (in my mind at least) could make the attenuation figures fluctuate in real-time, 'could' be due to internal wiring issues... Or it could be a fault on Sky's side... I'm not too sure to be honest.

      Last edited by syed.rahman; 17-08-12 at 07:53 PM.

    5. #24
      syed.rahman's Avatar
      syed.rahman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      Oh this is really annoying - I asked to reconfigure my line to 19Mb as the Sky customer service guy said it was possible, it got configured then it dropped to 15285kbps, an hour later it was still the same, talked to another sky customer service member and apparently my max supported speed is 16952kbps and I was annoyed but I agreed to putting it to that speed. Then I see it only increase to 15601kbps. Absolute rubbish.

    6. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      If you line isn't capable of supporting the higher speed, then it will not do so.

      Sky will typically err on the side of a stable line than one which looks fast but actually cripples the throughput because there are too many errors.

      Please remember too that the average Sky ADSL Unlimited speed is around 7mb.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      syed.rahman (19-08-12)

    8. #26
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      Its down to sky cst only being able to select 7db profiles max
      and dlm being able to select 3db now
      is it not?

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      syed.rahman (19-08-12)

    10. #27
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      Its down to sky cst only being able to select 7db profiles max
      and dlm being able to select 3db now
      is it not?
      Unless things have changes in the last month or so, then yes.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      I asked to reconfigure my line to 19Mb as the Sky customer service guy said it was possible,
      The maximum rate of your line may be 19Mb, but that would be with no noise margin. Your line was set to 17Mb by DLM with a 3 db noise margin, which is a very good speed for your attenuation, you should have been pleased with that. Normally to get 19-20 Mb the attenuation has to be in single figures or low teens. Sky agents cannot set the noise margin as low as DLM, so if you get a manual configuration, you will loose speed. What do your stats say now?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      syed.rahman (19-08-12)

    13. #29
      syed.rahman's Avatar
      syed.rahman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      I see, I asked for another reconfiguration of my line but sadly:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15450 kbps 1146 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.0 dB 14.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.0 dB 8.5 dB
      I'll try and get my download speed increased to slightly above 16Mb and then request DLM to be started again so I get 17-18Mb. It makes sense now. Thanks guys.

    14. #30
      syed.rahman's Avatar
      syed.rahman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will I get more speed?

      Well then... getting my connection speed near 16Mb failed. I'm at 15290kbps, DLM is starting again on my line from tonight.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION