Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme

    Better speeds?

    This is a discussion on Better speeds? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I live about 50 meters away from my exchange (lords,) and I am not sure if I should be getting ...

    1. #1
      msalihov's Avatar
      msalihov is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lords
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Better speeds?

      I live about 50 meters away from my exchange (lords,) and I am not sure if I should be getting better speeds. I curretly sync at 16 Mbps down and 0.9 Mbps up. My statistics from the router will be below. If someone could tell me whether I should enquire with Sky about this, or if this is normal, that would be good.


      Statistics:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16381 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.5 dB 5.3 dB
      Noise Margin 4.7 dB 12.0 dB


      Speed Tests:

      Speed Tester on this website:
      Down: 12.04 Mbps
      Up: 0.769 Mbps

      Speedtest.net


      Thank You


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Better speeds?

      Take a look at your wiring. If you have an NTE5 socket consider fitting a filtered faceplate. The vDSL faceplate is apparently very good.

      With your current Line Attenuation though you should be able to achieve a 20mb connection (see the stats in my signature). The Noise Margin suggests otherwise. This could be because you live is a block of flats or you are using an extension lead for the broadband connection.

      You may also wish to take a look at the page linked below:

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      If you can get the Noise Margin raised by improving the line quality and keeping your current speed, that is when to give Sky a friendly phone call.

      Please post your stats so that we can pass comments as to whether they've done a good job though. Some forget to increase the upload speed, for example.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      msalihov's Avatar
      msalihov is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lords
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Better speeds?

      First of all, thank you for your reply.

      I do not think I should attempt to install a new faceplate simply because my master socket is well hidden. It is behind a panel that holds all my Ethernet cables (put in the walls during a refurbishment.) I do also live in an appartment building, so I don't think I have too much choice. Anyway, I am fine with my speeds and just wanted to make sure Sky wasn't cheating me.

      Thank You

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Better speeds?

      Sky aren't cheating you, you are cheating yourself. With your low attenuation you should be getting pretty near the full whack of 20Mb. It is probably your internal wiring which is depriving you of your maximum possible speed. Until you get a connection straight into the Test socket, you will not know.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION