Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Speed reduction since replacing cables

    This is a discussion on Speed reduction since replacing cables within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My set up is as follows: Main socket downstairs > microfilter > router & phone extension lead leading to sky ...

    1. #1
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed reduction since replacing cables

      My set up is as follows:

      Main socket downstairs > microfilter > router & phone extension lead leading to sky box and land line
      Running out of the main socket is a lead to a 2nd socket on the landing > microfilter > 2nd sky box

      I had to replace the extension lead downstairs and the one upstairs recently as I got a letter from sky telling me both boxes were not connected to the phone line.

      Since I have done this, my router page downstream speed has dropped from about 4.3mg to 3.7mg. Videos on youtube and xbox live marketplace stutter/buffer a lot which they did not do previously.

      I have tried a) rebooting the router b ) replacing the filters c) plugging the downstairs filter directly into the faceplate and d) unplugging the microfilter upstairs but all 4 fixes have not made a difference.

      I emailed Sky, they have a run a line test and told me that I have errors on my line and the configured speed for my line was too high previously. To resolve this, I am now in 10 days of DLM while the line stabilises and the speed is now showing around 3mg (even slower).

      How can I all of a sudden have errors on the line and have to reduce the speed when it was fine before ? In 'MY SKY' it states that I had a line test on 16th May and my download speed is test to 4mg.

      If anyone can help that would be great.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Does the phone lead that runs out of the main (master) socket have its ring wire connected?

      If it does, disconnect the wires on terminals 3 and 4 of the master socket (should be the orange+white and white+orange pair) as the ring wire causes interference.

      If your master socket is an NTE5, then you might want to consider getting a filtered faceplate.

    4. #3
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Upstairs socket - I only have 2 wires connected - white with blue stripes and blue with white stripes.

      Downstairs socket - I only have wires connected to 2 and 5.

      Here are my stats :

      MASTER SOCKET STATS
      Downstream Upstream Connection Speed
      3069 kbps 254 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 18 db

      INTO FACEPLATE STATS
      Downstream Upstream Connection Speed
      2416 kbps 254 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 16 db

      My faceplate stats usually show 3069kbps. I am guessing it has dropped as I unplugged the lead to put it into the master socket and could probably get it back to that if I rebooted the router but Sky have told me I must not turn it off while it is in their DLM period ? On the assumption that the stats are usually the same between faceplate and master socket, does this not make it worthwhile buying a filtered faceplate ?

      Do these stats shed any light on it ?

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      I take it the second socket is dead when the test socket is exposed?

    6. #5
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      I take it the second socket is dead when the test socket is exposed?
      Sorry, are you suggesting I plug the filter into the test socket of the 2nd box upstairs ?

      I have rebooted the router and the speed has now dropped to just over 2meg

    7. #6
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Anyone ?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Your TEST socket should be the first socket connected to the main BT line coming in from ouside, once you have removed the front face you should find every other socket is dead, get the stats from this TEST socket and this should give you your best senario.

    9. #8
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Your TEST socket should be the first socket connected to the main BT line coming in from ouside, once you have removed the front face you should find every other socket is dead, get the stats from this TEST socket and this should give you your best senario.
      That is what I did in post # 3 ?

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Yep then you mentioned a test socket upstairs.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction since replacing cables

      Quote Originally Posted by JamieBee View Post
      That is what I did in post # 3 ?
      That wasn't clear in your post as you talked about the upstairs one too.

      Was every other socket in the house dead? and you did use the TEST socket (the one behind the front plate)?

      Do you have an alarm or anything else wired to the line?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION