Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Download limit lower than what it should be

    This is a discussion on Download limit lower than what it should be within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am paying for the basic broadband which should be 2mbs, whereas i am only getting 510kbs, using the speedtest ...

    1. #1
      Manorexic's Avatar
      Manorexic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Download limit lower than what it should be

      I am paying for the basic broadband which should be 2mbs, whereas i am only getting 510kbs, using the speedtest it said i could receive the full 2mbs.

      I recently had sky HD installed, but after the guy left i realized my internet access had gone completely, after re-arranging the cables a bit i got it to work, but its now a lot slower than it was before.

      I tried all of the suggestions to increase broadband speed but none of them worked.

      These are the statistics i am getting:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 510 kbps 672 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.5 db 30.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 10.0 db

      Edit: I just listened to the phone on the same line as the router and it was crackling, it did not do this before the guy came to fit sky HD, could this be the cause?
      Last edited by Manorexic; 24-07-10 at 09:20 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Download limit lower than what it should be

      Sounds and looks like a set-up issue.

      How many telephone sockets do you use in the house?
      Does every telephone socket in use have a filter connected FIRST directly into the socket?
      Is the router connected to the master socket?
      Are you running any extension cables to the router, or are you using the short grey dsl cable sky supplied?

      Also, when the sky tv engineer came out he would have fitted a 'splitter' - a two way blank white device. If that's connected to a telephone socket, ensure there is a filter before said splitter. Plug the filter directly into the telephone socket, then plug the splitter into the phone port of the filter and then your tv and phone into the splitter.

    4. #3
      Manorexic's Avatar
      Manorexic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Download limit lower than what it should be

      He did fit a splitter yes, but i removed the splitter as it stopped the internet from working altogether.

      I shall check all these things tomorrow thanks for the help and quick reply!

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Download limit lower than what it should be

      Defo set up issue. If you have no joy tomorrow, post back and we'll be able to talk you thru how to sort it out.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Download limit lower than what it should be

      Just to ensure you do not have a line fault, plug into the Test socket and post your stats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Manorexic's Avatar
      Manorexic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Download limit lower than what it should be

      I fitted the filter before the splitter, it stopped the crackling noise on the phone but it also stopped the internet connecting completely. I believe the cable going to the router is an extension one. I do not think every socket in use has a filter, and about 3 are in use.

      I am unsure if the cable with the splitter is the master cable, the whole thing is a mess and there is not a proper socket, i shall fit a new socket next week when i have a week away from work.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Download limit lower than what it should be

      but it also stopped the internet connecting completely
      That suggests you have a faulty filter.

      Have a look inside the sockets, the one with the capacitor and other bits 'n pieces is the Master.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION