Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Are my results random? i dont understand!

    This is a discussion on Are my results random? i dont understand! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hii... right ok. I know i have problems at home with cabling, so i have been playing about today and ...

    1. #1
      jaffaz32's Avatar
      jaffaz32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Hii...

      right ok. I know i have problems at home with cabling, so i have been playing about today and got a better result however my result are rather random.


      For the purpose of this test i took these results several times to get a average and nothing else is connected to the lan or wifi and only the router stats and speedtest.net open.


      My router is a DG834N.

      what i find weird is from the Netgear stats it all seems ok getting around 7mb however when i do a speed test i get way under 1mb and also tried similar sites with same results.

      ready for pics??

      as it was before playing



      after playing



      and my speed test



      does that look right or am i right? it's weird and why is it so messed up?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Speedtest.net is crap, use the speed tester on this website skyuser.co.uk/speedtester

    4. #3
      jaffaz32's Avatar
      jaffaz32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Just done that.

      I got

      496kbs down
      377kbs up.


      What's up with it

      That is odd isnt it?

      my Netgear result would suggest i would be getting couple mb at least.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Was the speed test via ethernet or wireless?

    6. #5
      jaffaz32's Avatar
      jaffaz32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Wireless...

      I shall try via the ethernet cable.

    7. #6
      jaffaz32's Avatar
      jaffaz32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Fell asleep but trying it this morning up up 6mb.

      Must had been down to traffic but really dropping that much throught the period of the whole night?

      When i got my O2 broadband it used to be very good, it was new out and not many people using it. Now as you can see my results can drop right off.

      I don't live in a area to get the fast broadband or be able to get the good deals. All the deals you see from sky i can't get as my area. They offer me their basic package for around 8mb for 20 plus a month.

      So is there any point changing isp? surely they are all as bad as each other?

    8. #7
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Are my results random? i dont understand!

      Traffic shouldn't really be a problem unless your on Sky Connect or AOL, O2 and other Sky packages should experience traffic problems. So its either Wireless or something wrong with your router.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION