Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    New home, worse connection?

    This is a discussion on New home, worse connection? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What IANTE meant was that with your present noise margin you are getting as much as you can, which is ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      What IANTE meant was that with your present noise margin you are getting as much as you can, which is correct. That is why I suggest you try the Test socket, even if you have only one phone extension it can interfere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      Ok ... will do the test and will post the results. Two questions though:

      Would the stats change straight away on the router page if the connection does improve?

      What size is the original phone cable given with the router? 1m? I am using a 2m cale at the moment, but it is the same I used in the other house when the connection was faster.

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      IANTE is right that you are on the limit with your current stats but using the test socket may improve them and allow for extra speed.

      Have you got the stats from the test socket yet?

      The phone extensions don't have to be in use to cause interference, just being connected to the master socket could do this.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      Would the stats change straight away on the router page if the connection does improve?
      Yes, the actual sync speed may not increase (DLM or Capping) but the noise margin will. This is the important reading.

      I don't use the standard cable, but I am sure its about 2M.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      IANTE is right that you are on the limit with your current stats but using the test socket may improve them and allow for extra speed.

      Have you got the stats from the test socket yet?

      The phone extensions don't have to be in use to cause interference, just being connected to the master socket could do this.
      Got it now

      Before (with the extensions on)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12284 kbps 966 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21.0 db 12.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 7.5 db


      And after (connected to test socket).

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream

      Connection Speed 12282 kbps 992 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.0 db 12.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.5 db

      not much of a difference is it?
      Last edited by rominho; 18-06-09 at 10:02 PM.

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      When you connected to the test socket, did all the other phone extension stop working?

      Did you check and remove and wires in terminal 3 on the rear of it?

      Do you have any noise on your voice calls, pick up phone, press a number and listen.

    8. #17
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      When you connected to the test socket, did all the other phone extension stop working?

      Did you check and remove and wires in terminal 3 on the rear of it?

      Do you have any noise on your voice calls, pick up phone, press a number and listen.
      I didn't check for noises on the phone line.

      If I remember correctly term 3 is the orange wire, right? I did not conect it on the master socket, however i think they are conected on the extension sockets though.

      But what I was trying to explain in an earlier post (sorry if I'm being a bit thick here ) is that until 2 days ago the extensions were not conected at all in the master socket and I had the same internet speed before I connected the extensions.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New home, worse connection?

      That is disappointing. It means that the noise problems on your connection are external which are always more difficult to get fixed. All you can do is let DLM complete and see how things stand then. As Smithy says, check you voice line for noise, any noise there will effect your ADSL and should be fixable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION