Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Site problem?

    This is a discussion on Site problem? within the Speak to the staff forums, part of the Website news category; Hi guys. For the last couple of hours i've been having some page loading issues. It's intermittent & everything is ...

    1. #1
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Site problem?

      Hi guys.

      For the last couple of hours i've been having some page loading issues.
      It's intermittent & everything is ok at this very moment but here are my pings to skyuser:

      PING 77.240.11.51 (77.240.11.51): 56 data bytes
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=0 ttl=119 time=96.9 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=1 ttl=119 time=97.3 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=2 ttl=119 time=97.1 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=3 ttl=119 time=97.4 ms

      --- 77.240.11.51 ping statistics ---
      4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 96.9/97.1/97.4 ms

      PING 77.240.11.51 (77.240.11.51): 56 data bytes
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=0 ttl=119 time=32.1 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=1 ttl=119 time=31.7 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=3 ttl=119 time=31.8 ms

      --- 77.240.11.51 ping statistics ---
      4 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 25% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 31.7/31.8/32.1 ms

      All over the shop as you can see.

      Skyuser is the only site i'm having problems with.
      All other sites are loading fine & pings to them are fine as well.
      Online speed testers report normal throughput & latency.
      My thinkbroadband bqm is normal too.
      Router stats are normal & unchanged.

      Anyone else having problems?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Site problem?

      It's been ok for half an hour now:

      PING 77.240.11.51 (77.240.11.51): 56 data bytes
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=0 ttl=119 time=24.4 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=1 ttl=119 time=23.3 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=2 ttl=119 time=23.4 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=3 ttl=119 time=24.6 ms

      --- 77.240.11.51 ping statistics ---
      4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 23.3/23.9/24.6 ms

      Sod's law.

    4. #3
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Site problem?

      All gone potty again.

      Am i really the only one experiencing this?
      All other sites are fine.

      PING 77.240.11.51 (77.240.11.51): 56 data bytes
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=1 ttl=119 time=23.2 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=2 ttl=119 time=23.3 ms
      56 bytes from 77.240.11.51: icmp_seq=3 ttl=119 time=24.0 ms

      --- 77.240.11.51 ping statistics ---
      4 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 25% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 23.2/23.5/24.0 ms

      Here's what i'm seeing:

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Site problem?

      Sorry for the ate response. I was busy playing with some video software last night.

      All seems to be fine here on my end this morning. How are they with you?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Site problem?

      All seems ok at the moment.

      edit
      Nope, still not displaying graphics:

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Site problem?

      It sounds more likely that there is an issue at your end.

      Could I ask you to clean out your cache and to try a different browser just to be sure?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Site problem?

      Thanks for looking into this Scubbie.

      I'll have a good clear out & reboot for a new ip address too just in case it's related to this silliness.

      Problem is obviously my end.
      Just strange how, no matter how hard i hammered google for random websites, it was only affecting skyuser.
      It's been fine for the last hour or so.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Site problem?

      No problem.

      Sadly computers are prone to making mistakes.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Site problem?

      New problem this afternoon. When logged in via my Windows10 machine and Internet Explorer 11 the pages keep reloading every couple of seconds producing a flicker effect and unusable page. No other web site is doing this for me at the moment. Have checked add one.

      Any ideas

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Site problem?

      I stopped using IE ages ago as I had problems with both this forum and the Sky forums.

      Basically I now use FF as my main browser.

      I upgraded this laptop on Saturday to Win 10 at last. I'm still in a state of do I really want this OS, but that's another story. I've just tried accessing the SkyUser forums with IE11 and didn't like it.

      The first time it crashed on me. The second time I tried in compatibility mode and all the same problems all came back. Basically don't use IE any more.

      For the present time Ged doesn't have any plan to update the form software. There have been a lot of major changes to the database that would cause a major headache.

      Since M$ are looking to withdraw IE and want to push Edge, I'd suggest that now would be a good time to move anyway.
      Last edited by Scubbie; 01-12-15 at 12:18 AM. Reason: Corrected typo

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION