Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Send message facility?

    This is a discussion on Send message facility? within the Speak to the staff forums, part of the Website news category; Hi ... I'm trying to send a private message to another forum user... I thought I'd posted one on Monday ...

    1. #1
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Send message facility?

      Hi ...

      I'm trying to send a private message to another forum user... I thought I'd posted one on Monday but when I checked just now, it's not showing up.

      I've just tried to send the message again and noticed that again, it's not showing up in the 'sent message' folder.

      I'd be grateful for help with this one


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,897
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      Ensure that you pressed the 'Submit' button, but a copy of your message should appear in the 'Sent' folder.

      I've noticed with the latest software update that you don't get the screen interruption anymore. People do now have to look at the top right of their screens to see if a message has been received.

      Also, check that the person whom you are sending a message to can receive PMs. some members have opted out of this feature.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Ensure that you pressed the 'Submit' button, but a copy of your message should appear in the 'Sent' folder.

      I've noticed with the latest software update that you don't get the screen interruption anymore. People do now have to look at the top right of their screens to see if a message has been received.

      Also, check that the person whom you are sending a message to can receive PMs. some members have opted out of this feature.

      Many thanks for the quick response.

      I pressed the submit button once I'd composed the message but there's no sign of the message(s) being sent

      On Monday I sent a reply (to one from a forum admin explaining that one of my messages had been moved) and then one to another forum user.

      It was only this morning that I checked in the 'sent message' folder but it's showing 0

      I used the search function to find the forum user member when composing the message (Monday and today) and they showed up in the listing. My guess is that if the user has opted out of private messages, that they would be filtered out in the send message option?

      I'll try again.... I've just spotted a 'quick test' message in my inbox so will try the 'reply' function again

      Thanks for your help

    5. #4
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      Update:

      I've just found your private message in my in box and sent a reply, but again, still got 0 (zero) in my sent message folder.

      Looks like it's broken ; - )

    6. #5
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      Hi again.

      I've just had your reply in my 'in box'... thanks for your help.

      It does look like my messages are actually being sent but there's no way I can see that from my private message section as the 'sent folder' item is still showing 0

      Cheers : - )

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,897
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      I think someone else was reading this thread too. i now get the messages advising me that there is a PM once more.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      sam_skyuser (21-04-11)

    9. #7
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I think someone else was reading this thread too. i now get the messages advising me that there is a PM once more.
      Hi... thanks for the info.

      Last PM I got was from yourself when we were conducting the tests so it does look like the problem is with the 'sent message' folder not updating, rather than messages not actually getting through.

      Thanks for sorting things out for me

    10. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Send message facility?

      I think the save sent PM's is off by default, if you require it to be on, then you need to edit your options.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/profi...do=editoptions

      Scroll down to Private Messaging and put a tick in Save a copy of sent messages in my Sent Items folder by default

      Then scroll down to the bottom of the page, and click on Save Changes.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Send message facility?

      I have just checked and it is off by default, so I have now set it so any new members will have this on, by default.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (21-04-11)

    13. #10
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Send message facility?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I have just checked and it is off by default, so I have now set it so any new members will have this on, by default.
      Thanks for that.

      I'll go and check through my original settings... dont think I've checked them since I first signed up.

      Thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION