Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

    This is a discussion on SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features within the SkyUser Bandwidth Meter forums, part of the Community channel category; Just a heads up on the new version. The new version will have the capability of measuring WAN and not ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

      Just a heads up on the new version.

      The new version will have the capability of measuring WAN and not LAN traffic. Which would be a lot more accurate on your actual bandwidth usage.

      This will be rolled out to the beta testers soon hopefully.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

      Further update:

      We are currently trying a version that only monitors WAN usage, and it is looking good so far.

      Stay tuned, we will let you know when this can be rolled out.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      CHRISMUR's Avatar
      CHRISMUR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208692
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

      Does this BandwidthMeter work on Windows 7 ? - I have `Downloaded it - tried to `Register` - not allowed to complete that - process kept rejecting my Password!

      No `Icon` created - when I found it in my list of `All Programs` - and clicked onto it - I got a message regarding ` Do you wnt this program to be allowed to make changes to your Computer?? ` - I selected `YES` - then absolutely nothing happened - I have tried this about 6 times - all same result = NOTHING.

      If the BandwidthMeter DOES NOT work on Windows 7 - a`mention` of that would save a lot of Frustration and Downloading a program without reason.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

      It is mentioned in the main Sky Meter thread that it is not compatible with Win 7. Now it is mentioned here too. There has not been much feedback from the developer recently.
      SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      rampage1985's Avatar
      rampage1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caterham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

      can you add games consols... or do you have to target it to a ip address?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter Features

      It cannot be installed on games consoles. It runs on MS .NET framework. If you are on Unlimited there is no point in using it. It is only useful now for those on Lite or Connect.

      Maybe NR can find out if it is still being developed?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION