Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

    This is a discussion on Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Not the best picture, but this is the underside of my LNB, there are 2 cables currently and 2 spare ...

    1. #1
      jonparker's Avatar
      jonparker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

      Not the best picture, but this is the underside of my LNB, there are 2 cables currently and 2 spare holes so I guess I have a quad.

      What's involved in fixing a new 3rd feed to go to an old sky+ box?

      I've uograded from sky+ to HD, and want to use my old box in the spare room. I know I'll only get the free to air channels and no recording service. Do I need 2 feeds or just one, since I;m not using the sky+ services?

      Cheers
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed-2012-02-10_14-42-32_262.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

      Yes thats a quad, you will need 2 f connectors and the required length of cable to reach your box.

      Cable - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WF100-Cabl...item2a05004c6d

      Connectors - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-F-Plug...item2569450819

      Or you could run the shotgun cable which most people sell with the connectors just in case you decide to upgrade in the future - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/15m-Twin-S...item255f0aa78e


    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

      Or if you want to do the job over the weekend, pop into Maplins etc and get the gear. It's all bog standard stuff. You may also need wall clips to secure the cable.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      jonparker's Avatar
      jonparker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

      Maplins, bits got. Just need dad in law o put a hole in the wall with his SDS and I will do the rest.

      Thanks contributors :-)

    6. #5
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

      That was quick. Don't forget a wall plug and sealant for the hole when you're next out. Good luck.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    7. #6
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Is this a quad LNB, how to add a feed

      And silicone grease for the connectors.
      Fitting rubber boots to LNB cables

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION