Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 60k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24
    Like Tree2Likes

    No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

    This is a discussion on No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+ within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi All, thought I would post this after a lot of hassle with Sky and 2 diff installation companies. My ...

    1. #1
      rxtaylor's Avatar
      rxtaylor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01202
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Hi All, thought I would post this after a lot of hassle with Sky and 2 diff installation companies.

      My Sky + Box kept showing 'No Satellite Signal' even after a reset when signal was being received (checked with standard box) after a few days of very windy weather (fluctuating signal)

      First time round the Sky+ box was replaced after 2 visits by engineer as faulty.

      New box lasted 1 week before showing exact same symptoms and engineer left this evening scratching his head and suggesting I see what happens with the std sky box for a few days.

      bored with this response I went online and saw the info on resetting LNB, resetting box etc all to no avail ( Signal strength and quality show Zero and no lock on signal ), I also saw info about the Anytime software causing problems so i did the following

      Turned off Anytime
      Went into Setup i.e. Services,4,0,1 Select
      Chose NEW INSTALLATION and noted that Signal was showing and 1 of the Tuners was locked on now, waited a few moments and second Tuner locked on.
      Continued with install and Box did a 'Callback'

      Hey presto its working perfectly now.

      looks like Anytime doesnt cope with fluctuating signal

      hope this helps someone and avoid boxes getting sent back as faulty hardware


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      davidcannon's Avatar
      davidcannon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Hi,

      Just wanted to say a big thanks for this post - completely cured the problem, after having tried every other blooming trick in the book. You are a god amongst posters

      Cheers
      Dave

    4. #3
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Anytime shares space with quite a few of the SD Sky Movie channels so I can't quite see how turning off Anytime should work. Still, should give Sky something to look at!
      Anyone else find it resolves their issues?
      There is no p in Thomson.

    5. #4
      rowena's Avatar
      rowena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Thanks so much for solving my problem. I actually thought I had got through to fonejacker last night when I rang Sky trying to solve my 2 day old problem. Thanks again.

    6. #5
      kentish's Avatar
      kentish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01622
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Would a new installation delete all the programs recorded on my hard disk? I also have the problem of channels not showing and the no signal being received message and I thought that could help, but I don't want to lose all my recordings.
      Any help will be appreciated.

    7. #6
      nealesh's Avatar
      nealesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ruislip
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      I think this may have cured my Thomson PVR3 box which was replaced a couple of weeks ago with a refurb Amstrad PVR3 (Sky Engineer Call Out). Maybe I should have tried this but I know for now so thanks for the post. I am happier with the Amstrad at the moment as PQ is better and I no longer notice the hard disk hum....

    8. #7
      Suwalker's Avatar
      Suwalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Many thanks for taking the time to put up this solution - caused I think by a sudden power drop.

      None of the solutions on the Sky site got rid of the dreaded 'no satellite signal'.

      Following your instructions cured the matter. Why doesn't Sky make this site compulsory reading for all Sky engineers?




      Quote Originally Posted by rxtaylor View Post
      Hi All, thought I would post this after a lot of hassle with Sky and 2 diff installation companies.

      My Sky + Box kept showing 'No Satellite Signal' even after a reset when signal was being received (checked with standard box) after a few days of very windy weather (fluctuating signal)

      First time round the Sky+ box was replaced after 2 visits by engineer as faulty.

      New box lasted 1 week before showing exact same symptoms and engineer left this evening scratching his head and suggesting I see what happens with the std sky box for a few days.

      bored with this response I went online and saw the info on resetting LNB, resetting box etc all to no avail ( Signal strength and quality show Zero and no lock on signal ), I also saw info about the Anytime software causing problems so i did the following

      Turned off Anytime
      Went into Setup i.e. Services,4,0,1 Select
      Chose NEW INSTALLATION and noted that Signal was showing and 1 of the Tuners was locked on now, waited a few moments and second Tuner locked on.
      Continued with install and Box did a 'Callback'

      Hey presto its working perfectly now.

      looks like Anytime doesnt cope with fluctuating signal

      hope this helps someone and avoid boxes getting sent back as faulty hardware

    9. #8
      Cymruan's Avatar
      Cymruan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01656
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Thanks for posting. So glad I managed to sort this out instead of having to call sky at all.

      Thanks

    10. #9
      gprosser's Avatar
      gprosser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Hi - does this require a phone line to be connected??? I have same problem - no satellite lock each time I bring the box out of standby... but have no phone line connected.
      Does just turning off Anytime fix it?
      Many thanks!!!! Gareth.

    11. #10
      turbo10's Avatar
      turbo10 is offline Banned
      Exchange: 01293
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal being received on SKY+

      Many Thanks! Just done The New Installation Method,and I have got it all back.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2012. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO