Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    209 kbps!!! Is it even possible for it to be any slower???

    This is a discussion on 209 kbps!!! Is it even possible for it to be any slower??? within the Sky unhappiness forums, part of the Sky Broadband feedback category; I've been using sky broadband for almost a year now. I had over a dozen conversations via the phone and ...

    1. #1
      gytis's Avatar
      gytis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      209 kbps!!! Is it even possible for it to be any slower???

      I've been using sky broadband for almost a year now. I had over a dozen conversations via the phone and online with them in order to complain about the internet speed and constant network outages. However, nobody ever did a slightest thing to solve the problem. And at the moment internet speed is even slower than ever before - 209 kbps!!! How is that even possible to charge such money for the contract and don't show any interest in the quality of service????

      View image: Screenshot from 2013 07 13 16 22 58
      Screenshot from 2013-07-13 16:22:58.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 209 kbps!!! Is it even possible for it to be any slower???

      Go to the bottom of your Router Status page and click the Statistics button. Copy and paste the results here.

      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      gytis's Avatar
      gytis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 209 kbps!!! Is it even possible for it to be any slower???

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 148:32:19
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 6151399 5147764 0 0 0 136:12:03
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 148:32:19
      WLAN Up 5780630 6734180 0 0 4928 148:31:56
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 209 kbps 255 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 dB 50.9 dB
      Noise Margin 8.1 dB 14.7 dB
      Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 209 kbps!!! Is it even possible for it to be any slower???

      It looks like you have a serious problem with your line. Do you have a test socket? If so plug into it and post your stats from there. While the faceplate is removed to expose the Test socket, check that all of your other extensions are dead.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you do not have a test socket, remove everything you have plugged into the phone line, including STBs, and plug your router into the master socket using only a filter and cable supplied by Sky. Post your results.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION