Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Extremely slow, frequent stalling connection

This is a discussion on Extremely slow, frequent stalling connection within the Sky unhappiness forums, part of the Sky Broadband feedback category; I am a student and after a very happy 9 months living away from home under the soaring wings of ...

Redcoat-Mic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Extremely slow, frequent stalling connection

I am a student and after a very happy 9 months living away from home under the soaring wings of Virgin Media 50mb fibre optic cable connection, I return home to Sky. It's a very unpleasant experience let me tell you.

The connection is just completely shot, I have no idea what is wrong with it.
      I would say 'sometimes it's fine' but it's never fine, it's never as fast as it should be, I know that they never come near there advertised speed but this never comes near to never coming near...

Currently I watched in horror as something downloaded at 10kbs, I haven't seen that since 2003 56kb... After finally having enough I went on the router page and reset it and that only made it worse and for the past 2 hours it's randomly stopped working, forcing me to turn it on and off at the router...

Help would greatly be appreciated if anyone can muster a guess to what is the matter.

Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 5952
      UpStream Connection Speed 448
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 433 409 0 1931 80 0:01:55
      LAN 2132 1909 0 1 48 87 0:02:46
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:02:21
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5984 kbps 448 kbps