Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

    This is a discussion on Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!! within the Sky unhappiness forums, part of the Sky Broadband feedback category; Hi, I Asked my ISP Be Unlimited for a mac on 30.01.09. Gave it to Sky on the 02.02.09 after ...

    1. #1
      prestonradar's Avatar
      prestonradar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: castleford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      West Riding
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Hi,
      I Asked my ISP Be Unlimited for a mac on 30.01.09. Gave it to Sky on the 02.02.09 after my TV account had been setup. Mac was rejected and I was told a cease order was on my line by Be. Be said no it wasn't. After phoning daily to Sky to ask about progress, Sky said that Be still had a tag on my line. Be said no we haven't. Eventually 10 days later after phoning Sky daily I was informed by a Sky cso that my broadband could not be connected until my Sky Talk was activated on 19.02.09. That would make it 21 days after phoning Be for a mac.
      Be in the meantime were phoning me with a 2nd mac and asking why was it taking so long. I had been slagging Be in emails because I believed all the crap Sky had told me. I desperation I rang the Sky Talk number not the broadband number and spoke to the guy there.
      What a difference, he took my mac, got it accepted; found a fault, traced it and got help to fix it; placed my order again [it had been cancelled..??] and I THINK that I will get connected after the 20.02.09. My God is it always this difficult to migrate to Sky?
      The frustrating thing is, I have NEVER been told what the problem was, so I don't know if the fault was mine, Be's or Sky's.
      Please tell me that this doesn't happen to everybody..??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      The fault was Sky. The cannot put BB on a phone line until SkyTalk is active. Once it is active broadband can be applied.

      It is easier to get the BB and then SkyTalk or vice versa.

    4. #3
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      The fault was Sky. The cannot put BB on a phone line until SkyTalk is active. Once it is active broadband can be applied.

      It is easier to get the BB and then SkyTalk or vice versa.
      Hmmmmmmm!
      My BB and Talk were ordered at the same time. BB was activated almost immediately and Talk followed about 3 weeks later!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    5. #4
      prestonradar's Avatar
      prestonradar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: castleford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      West Riding
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs down Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      The fault was Sky. The cannot put BB on a phone line until SkyTalk is active. Once it is active broadband can be applied.

      It is easier to get the BB and then SkyTalk or vice versa.
      Thanks Smithy. I've searched through ALL of the pamphlets leaflets and letters from Sky and NOWHERE does it tell you that information.
      Also NO ONE in ANY telephone call until the last call told me that information.
      I accepted the Sky+, Sky Talk & Sky Mid package. So I would have assumed that Sky themslves would know how Sky works...???

    6. #5
      oldun's Avatar
      oldun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480472536
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      St Neots, Cambs
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      I had Sky BB and TV first and Sky Talk at a later date.

    7. #6
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      The fault was Sky. The cannot put BB on a phone line until SkyTalk is active. Once it is active broadband can be applied.

      It is easier to get the BB and then SkyTalk or vice versa.
      ??? This seems to be a contradiction!

      Anyway, at least two of us can say that the first part just ain't true!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Well it's what I was led to believe, if the MAC goes through for broadband and SkyTalk is also added until the Skytalk is activated then the boardband has to wait.

      I suppose thinking about it, it could just depend on which is added first to the order, if BB is added and then SkyTallk waits until it the BB is complete and as SkyTalk usually has a bit of a longer lead in time than BB nobody notices, also who really cares if SkyTalk is delayed by a week or so.

      If SkyTalk is started first, the BB has to wait until the SkyTalk order is cleared before the BB is added.

      Maybe someone from Sky could let us know? but it seems to make sense, I'm sure I got the info from another post on here.

    9. #8
      Quik0706's Avatar
      Quik0706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT23
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Same happened for us. Ordered Sky+ HD, Sky Talk and Broadband Mid on 23/1. Sky Talk went live on 10/2 followed by Mid on 19/2.

      It said from when i entered the mac right up until BB was activated there was a fault with the order, but when i first phoned up to see what the fault was they explained that the SkyTalk had to activate first.

    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      My brother has had the same when moving house, he has been told by Sky he can't have broadband until 2 weeks after the Sky Talk has been activated.

      He is also moving from LLU to connect so he'll be on that for 2 months and then jumping ship when his contract is up.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Isn't migrating to Sky easy..?? No it isn't..!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      Anyway, at least two of us can say that the first part just ain't true!
      Seems there might be some truth to it afterall Ned

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION