Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together

    This is a discussion on Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together within the Sky Ultra Fibre Optic Broadband forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I'd like to (if possible) use the sky q hub as just a modem and then have a 3rd ...

    1. #1
      lavster's Avatar
      lavster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together

      Hello, I'd like to (if possible) use the sky q hub as just a modem and then have a 3rd party router as our main wireless router also one that has other functionality like a VPN etc that the main sky q router doesnt have.

      I know this can be done, by hard wiring the sky q hub into the additional router, what i wondered is can i have the Q hub and the 3rd party router joined via Wifi? so I can connect the router to my Sky Q hub then have the 3rd party router on the middle floor of my house?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,286
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 354 Times in 345 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together

      If hard wiring is going to be a problem you could always use powerline adaptors.

    4. #3
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Billion 8800NL V1(bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      571
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together

      sky q cannot be just a modem . it is designed as a modem+ router..you need to run a seperate vdsl modem and a router which will support option 61 for sky's wan authentication.

      vdsl modem> Asus router (for example) that will give you router + vpn server and good wifi coverage.
      Billion 8800NL modem (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016

      click for my ECI line stats

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    5. #4
      lavster's Avatar
      lavster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together

      Ahh Ok thank you, Ill have a look and start to buy some of the bits then

    6. #5
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Billion 8800NL V1(bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      571
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Router + Netgear / TP-Link Router Together

      look on eBay for hg612, vmg8324, billion 8800nl v1. these all work in bridge mode. 612 requires no config. 8800 and 8324 you will need to configure for bridge mode.

      If you do go down the Asus route you can install merlin on it which will make it a lot easier to configure for sky wan config. If you need the settings just ask.

      device list https://wikidevi.com/wiki/List_of_Me...ported_devices
      Billion 8800NL modem (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016

      click for my ECI line stats

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION