Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree1Likes

    Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

    This is a discussion on Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address within the Sky Ultra Fibre Optic Broadband forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; they need to do something every router reboot is a new ipv6 range highly annoying it takes wired devices ages ...

    1. #11
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      they need to do something
      every router reboot is a new ipv6 range
      highly annoying it takes wired devices ages to realise that the range has changed
      sky's unhelpful answer is not to reboot the router


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      Totally agree. I'm somewhat baffled as to the need for it. I'm hoping it's a roll-out issue and that eventually it will be a static address in the same way as IPv4.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #13
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky FTTH
      Router: Edgerouter ERLite-3
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      If your router sends a DHCPv6 RELEASE when rebooting, the BNG will release the IPv6 prefix that's been delegated. This behaviour will be vendor specific.

      A line disconnect, or hard power reset of your router should not trigger this, and the lease for your prefix should remain.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      I know from experience that any wired devices on my Network switches will retain the previous IPv4 address after the router has been rebooted. Generally this isn't an issue but has been when I've changed the IP address range.

      I will assume that a similar issue is present with the IPv6 range.

      Other than rebooting each device connected to the Ethernet ports, the only other friendly way to speed things up it to reconnect the Ethernet cable or simply reboot the network switch.

      However, I would agree with you, a static IP Address might be more comfortable as a router might get a new IP range periodically when there is a line reset, firmware update or something else to cause things to change unexpectedly.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky FTTH
      Router: Edgerouter ERLite-3
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I will assume that a similar issue is present with the IPv6 range.
      v6 is a bit different. Unlike DHCPv4, an IPv6 router (your CPE), can send Router Advertisements (RAs) to your LAN with a lifetime of zero for the old prefix, effectively telling end clients to stop using it immediately. It can then simultaneously send RAs with the new prefix (if it has one).

      If the router itself goes away, the end clients will automatically decrement the previously received lifetime value until it expires, and then stop using that SLAAC address, similar to DHCPv4. (but if the router has gone away completely.... )

      If the router goes away before it can send an RA with zero lifetime, and it comes back up and starts advertising a new prefix, then yes a similar scenario can occur where the end hosts can have an old address but it should also obtain a new valid one, and the old one will eventually time out as above. In this case it'll be down to things like happy eyeballs and OS layer source address selection algorithms to determine which IP to use for new outbound connections.

    7. #16
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      Have to admit I haven't tested this for a while as now I have dynephant running it's not been an issue for me. I did modify the dhcp6c client with an option to terminate without sending a release but then a large work project landed on my desk and I had to stop playing and concentrate on that. I've got some time to play again now so I'll check it out and see what happens. Do I recall you mentioning they have relaxed the timing now regarding DHCP4 and DHCP6 init?
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Do I recall you mentioning they have relaxed the timing now regarding DHCP4 and DHCP6 init?
      Sky routers still contact the Sky Servers, to keep the IP Address active, about every 30 minutes. If they don't do this for around an hour, you'll get a new IP Address.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      No, not that bit.

      When Det and I were playing a couple of months ago he pointed out that the dhcp6 init must be sent within a given period after the DHCPv4 handshake, and if that did not happen then no dhcp6 address was given. I seem to recall him mentioning that the timing of that had been relaxed a bit.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (18-07-16)

    11. #19
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      Here's the reply i had from someone at sky (Sky Network Architect)


      A deliberate reboot is one of the things that is supposed to change the prefix as it is a common form of customer self-diagnosis, so that is working as designed. The workarounds would be to ensure your wired devices spot from the RAs that the old prefix is gone and a new one should be used, or to not reboot the router as often.

      One of the stupidest things i have ever heard

      1) Wired devices pluged into a seperate switch wont see a link down on router reboot so will just carry on as normal thinking there's been no change
      2) There's no control on windows devices to mess with spotting RA's (i have to do a manual renew or reboot if i want ipv6 back promptly)
      3) all this is going to do is cause problems for the targeted noob customer not sort them


      They either need to make them actually sticky at theyr end or introduce a dhcp flag to request the old range for advanced users
      Last edited by Shonk; 19-07-16 at 03:00 PM.
      Scubbie likes this.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (18-07-16)

    13. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Own 3rd party router sky roll out of ipv6 address

      Yeah.... 'nuf said.

      Of course the SR101 & 102 are fine, if say you have 3 or 4 devices, but you're stuff with the Q Hub as it only has 2 Ethernet ports.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION