Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Magic eye lag on remote control

    This is a discussion on Magic eye lag on remote control within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi guys Ive run a coax cable from downstairs to upstairs bedroom. added a magic eye upstairs and whenever i ...

    1. #1
      checkmate's Avatar
      checkmate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Magic eye lag on remote control

      Hi guys

      Ive run a coax cable from downstairs to upstairs bedroom. added a magic eye upstairs and whenever i press any sky buttons, there is a lag.Sometimes its instant when i change channels or press rewind or anything.

      But at times there is a a long delay. I have to press stop numerous times and then rewind and then again wont stop on time and have to forwrd so its bit annoying!

      Any ideas whats causing this lag ?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,076
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Magic eye lag on remote control

      Do you know which firmware you have on your Sky box or which model it is please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      AvoriazSkier's Avatar
      AvoriazSkier is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity II
      Router: BT HH6
      Sky TV: Three HD+ boxes
      Join Date
      Apr 2016
      Location
      Caerphilly
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Magic eye lag on remote control

      Have you noticed a similar, smaller lag when controlling the box directly? This happens with my Samsung box and I cure it by clearing the HDD of everything I don't want and doing a System Rebuild. You could try this and see if it improves matters.

    5. #4
      checkmate's Avatar
      checkmate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Magic eye lag on remote control

      Hi

      see below model and firmware version i believe?

      Also on direct box its perfectly fine, i have had 4 new boxes too in past 3 months or so, so doubt it can be box.

      Model - R012.079.50.00p
      version - 4f31ea

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,076
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Magic eye lag on remote control

      I've asked about this elsewhere and the response is a little thin on the ground. I've had confirmation that things should be fine.

      Could I ask you to do a planner rebuild and see if this helps please?

      Just in case:

      Using your remote press <Services> 0 0 1 <Select> 7

      This should highlight 'Sky+ Rebuild' (do not select 'System Reset')

      Press <Select> and follow the on screen prompts from here.

      A planner rebuild in a non-destructive process. It will take around 5-10 minutes to complete normally. During this time you won't be able to record or watch any content. Once complete press the <Sky> button to wake up the STB. Allow a few minutes for the reboot/restart process to complete after too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      checkmate's Avatar
      checkmate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Magic eye lag on remote control

      I have done planner rebuild few times and had no luck... in fact in past 3 months ive had 3 new sky boxes and in all sky boxes i am having this issue sadly

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,076
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Magic eye lag on remote control

      Hello again checkmate.

      Thanks for coming back on this, I was getting a little worried. A shame that the planner rebuild didn't work, but thank you for trying.

      I've had another suggestion and one which could make sense.

      Could I ask you to try the remote you've been using by the magic eye in the same room as the Sky+ HD STB and the remote you normally use there on the magic eye?

      Also could I ask you to try a fresh set of batteries after the first test.

      This suggestion is that perhaps either the batteries are worn or the remote itself is getting long in the tooth.

      The next thing would be to carefully check through the whole length of the coaxial cable to see if there is any chance that there is a small break in the connection somewhere. Just in case you're not familiar, the magic eye requires a solid connection for both the outer sheath and the inner core. It doesn't rely on a radio signal, instead it requires electrical contact through out.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION